LAN Network access

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
Nargg
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:34 pm

LAN Network access

Post by Nargg » Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:22 pm

I'd really like to see my Ooma have normal LAN network access without the need to plug into the special port in the back. This would make the Ooma so much more user friendly for setup and continual operation. I hope this is considered in future firmware updates.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: LAN Network access

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:02 pm

Sorry if I misunderstand, but are you referring to connecting your Telo directly to your router? As in Modem -> router -> Telo, as you would any pc?

If so, that's the way most of us connect.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Nargg
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:34 pm

Re: LAN Network access

Post by Nargg » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:06 pm

Exactly WayneDsr. The only way to access the Telo's internal features is to connect via modem -> Telo -> router. But I use a static IP address with routing to internal machines for Internet to LAN access. So I can't connect with that method. I have to use modem -> router -> Telo. You can't get to http://setup.ooma.com with this configuration. That stinks. Maybe if the setup page was truely cloud based, where you didn't need LAN access to reach all features of your Telo? There's lot's of better solutions to the method Ooma chose. I hope they re-think their setup methods.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: LAN Network access

Post by murphy » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:15 pm

Go into the Telo setup page and create a port forwarding rule that forwards port 80 to 172.27.35.1.
Once that is done you can connect to the Telo setup page by connecting to the IP address that your router assigns to the Telo.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: LAN Network access

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:25 pm

murphy wrote:Go into the Telo setup page and create a port forwarding rule that forwards port 80 to 172.27.35.1.
Once that is done you can connect to the Telo setup page by connecting to the IP address that your router assigns to the Telo.
What Murphy said.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

truytim
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:29 am

Re: LAN Network access

Post by truytim » Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:33 am

if prefer to connect Modem -> router -> Telo, you need to decrease your router firewall. refer to your router manual.

Post Reply