Stupid brightness button

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
eddycurrents
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:23 pm

Stupid brightness button

Post by eddycurrents » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:43 pm

I came home from work and my Telo was completely black so I figured it was dead. I cursed, stamped my feet, sent an email to customer support, wailed, gnashed my teeth, etc.

Then I tried a call, and it worked. Wth?

Then I happened upon a post here that mentioned the brightness button. You hit it too many times and the thing goes black. The maids must have bumped it.

ARRRGGGHH! A brightness button should never kill the lights entirely. It should go to dimmest setting, not "off". At least leave the brightness button lit so you can find it.

How many other people have been similarly fooled, and sent out spurious support requests?

Trinimd
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by Trinimd » Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:48 pm

I actually like they fact you can dim all the lights off. Especially in a dark room. That one light will always bother me.

Now only if they would have used that "technology" for the handset led light. Sigh :(
OOMA TELO 1 (Purchased Dec 2009.)
OOMA Telo 2 (Purchased Feb 2010.)
3 Ooma Handsets (Free from refer a friend) Sold all 3 POS on Ebay
2 GE ATT DECT 6.0
7 Uniden 1580 DECT 6.0
20 Refer A friends Completed


All Powered by one Phone Socket

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by southsound » Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:02 pm

Trinimd wrote:Now only if they would have used that "technology" for the handset led light. Sigh :(
Actually, there is a technology that works quite well. It also comes in a variety of colors to suit most every need.

Image
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Trinimd
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by Trinimd » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:11 am

lol
OOMA TELO 1 (Purchased Dec 2009.)
OOMA Telo 2 (Purchased Feb 2010.)
3 Ooma Handsets (Free from refer a friend) Sold all 3 POS on Ebay
2 GE ATT DECT 6.0
7 Uniden 1580 DECT 6.0
20 Refer A friends Completed


All Powered by one Phone Socket

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by hpepper » Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:54 am

southsound wrote:
Trinimd wrote:Now only if they would have used that "technology" for the handset led light. Sigh :(
Actually, there is a technology that works quite well. It also comes in a variety of colors to suit most every need.

Yes, Southsound, that IS great technology - Just make sure you follow directions and don't EVER use duct tape
on duct work. :o

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:40 am

I'd fire my maid. Its' easier than calling tech support. :D

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

rschoonh
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:42 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by rschoonh » Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:46 pm

Well, sorry to say, more or less the same thing happened to me. Happy ending, but I should have thought to check the Ethernet link/activity lights on the back before cursing the Ooma gods.
Ooma Telo with one handset on AT&T U-verse 6Mb DSL

arkumar15
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:52 pm

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by arkumar15 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:03 pm

I have been using my ooma core for the last one and half year. Recently, i noticed that the brightness button doesn't work. It is remaining same whether i lower or increase the brightness. I am not sure whether the unit is dying or not because line 1 and line 2 buttons brightness also becoming dim. Is anyone else having this problem.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by murphy » Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:55 pm

arkumar15 wrote:I have been using my ooma core for the last one and half year. Recently, i noticed that the brightness button doesn't work. It is remaining same whether i lower or increase the brightness. I am not sure whether the unit is dying or not because line 1 and line 2 buttons brightness also becoming dim. Is anyone else having this problem.
Just to be sure, you are using the wheel on the right side (brightness) and not the one on the left side (volume).
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: Stupid brightness button

Post by Davesworld » Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:51 pm

murphy wrote:
arkumar15 wrote:I have been using my ooma core for the last one and half year. Recently, i noticed that the brightness button doesn't work. It is remaining same whether i lower or increase the brightness. I am not sure whether the unit is dying or not because line 1 and line 2 buttons brightness also becoming dim. Is anyone else having this problem.
Just to be sure, you are using the wheel on the right side (brightness) and not the one on the left side (volume).
Not on a Telo. It's a touch pad that goes in increments.

Post Reply