Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
mad106
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:38 pm

Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by mad106 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:04 pm

I have two ooma hubs one at my place and other at my uncle's. Both work fine at my place but not at my uncle's.
The problem is the ooma tab is blue but when i pick up the receiver the tab turns amber(not red) and hear no dial tone.
He never had this problem before but only lately.
I am sure the internet works fine at his place because the PC connected to ooma can connect to the net. The router/modem connected to ooma is also set to DHCP and so is ooma. I also tested assigning static ip on ooma that falls within the range of the router's ip range. I believe there is no problem in networking whatsoever because if it is the case the tab wouldn't glow blue in the first place.
There is no mention Solid Amber(definitely not red) light on the tab on the user manuals. Trying to play the voicemail would work half the time but the rest it just exhibits the same issue.
I really need some help here thanks.

Madhu.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by bw1 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:09 pm

Set the network connection on the Ooma setup page http://setup.ooma.com to Automatic and MODEM Port MAC Address to Use Built in. Reboot the modem and then the Hub.

mad106
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by mad106 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:20 pm

Thanks for the quick reply,
I tried all(Automatic,DHCP,Static IP) of the option is network section of ooma except PPPoE cuz my ISP doesn't use PPPoE.

Note that internet works in all cases.

BTW when the TAB turns amber the status page shows Ooma Core : connecting.....

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by bw1 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:27 pm

The tab is not flashing?

No other lights are lit up? See the Troubleshooting section of the Quick Start Guide.

Did you set the MAC to use built in?

You probably need to reboot the modem.

You could also try doing a factory reset to the Hub by pressing down the tab while plugging the Hub in.

mad106
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by mad106 » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:25 pm

I tried all of the above and yes it doesn't flash.

And i hope i am clear that it works fine at my place and this problem happens only at my uncle's.

Now i encountered another issue. Ooma seems to add the number 916 as prefix to whatever number i am dialling.
For example if i dial the number 408 -XXX-XXXX , the call log shows (916)-408-XXXX. My uncle didn't know this because he only uses incoming on Ooma.

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by murphy » Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:58 am

Try a different phone. It could be the phone that is inserting the extra digits.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

av8r
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:38 am

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by av8r » Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:57 am

bw1 wrote:Set the network connection on the Ooma setup page http://setup.ooma.com to Automatic and MODEM Port MAC Address to Use Built in. Reboot the modem and then the Hub.
That link you provided comes back as not found for me. Was it typed correctly?

thank you

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by bw1 » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:33 am

av8r wrote:
bw1 wrote:Set the network connection on the Ooma setup page http://setup.ooma.com to Automatic and MODEM Port MAC Address to Use Built in. Reboot the modem and then the Hub.
That link you provided comes back as not found for me. Was it typed correctly?

thank you
Yes, you have to have a computer connected to the Home Network port on the Telo.

From the Telo QSG:
You can optimize how ooma prioritizes your network traffic
by opening your web browser to http://setup.ooma.com.
Note that this page can only be accessed from a computer
connected directly to, or behind, the HOME NETWORK
port of your Ooma Telo.

av8r
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:38 am

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by av8r » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:26 am

bw1 wrote:
av8r wrote:
bw1 wrote:Set the network connection on the Ooma setup page http://setup.ooma.com to Automatic and MODEM Port MAC Address to Use Built in. Reboot the modem and then the Hub.
That link you provided comes back as not found for me. Was it typed correctly?

thank you
Yes, you have to have a computer connected to the Home Network port on the Telo.

From the Telo QSG:
You can optimize how ooma prioritizes your network traffic
by opening your web browser to http://setup.ooma.com.
Note that this page can only be accessed from a computer
connected directly to, or behind, the HOME NETWORK
port of your Ooma Telo.

Thanks for the clarification. So does the ooma box provide DHCP and DNS for the name resolution?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Blue Tab turns amber(not red)

Post by bw1 » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:18 am

av8r wrote: Thanks for the clarification. So does the ooma box provide DHCP and DNS for the name resolution?
Yes, the Ooma provides DHCP addresses from 172.27.35.10 to 172.27.35.160 along with DNS, DMZ, Port Forwarding and QOS.

Post Reply