AT&T Cell Phone - Problem Resolved with Telco Disconnect

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

AT&T Cell Phone - Problem Resolved with Telco Disconnect

Post by virgusa » Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:15 pm

I cannot call one AT&T cell phone from my Ooma. I can call it if I don't go through Ooma. This is the only number so far that I have a problem with.

I get the message, "You must now dial the area code along with the 7 digit number to complete your call." I am dialing as stated. I have 10 Digit Dialing enabled on my Ooma account. I have tried dialing with and without the "1". I can dial another AT&T cell phone that has a different area code. Puzzling.....

I have the Ooma Hub and Scout and Windstream. I am in the process of porting my number.
Last edited by virgusa on Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by virgusa » Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:18 am

I have emailed Ooma and they have had me power off and on my Hub and it is still not able to call this number. The called party can see my call as a "missed call" even though it does not go through on my end.

I don't have any problem connecting if I go through my regular phone line after I remove the hub from my set up.

ntoy

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by ntoy » Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:29 am

Hello,

Do you have an answering service with your AT&T landline. When you pick up your receiver connected to your Ooma, do you hear a stutter dialtone for new voicemails? If so, try disabling it or clear all of your new vmails.

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by virgusa » Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:14 pm

ntoy wrote:Hello,

Do you have an answering service with your AT&T landline. When you pick up your receiver connected to your Ooma, do you hear a stutter dialtone for new voicemails? If so, try disabling it or clear all of your new vmails.
No answering service. I don't have an AT&T landline. I have Verizon. Trying to call an AT&T cell phone. I can call another AT&T cell phone with a different area code. The area code may be the problem.

Thanks for the reply.

ntoy

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by ntoy » Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:35 am

Hello,

I noticed you have 2 numbers with different area codes.
Are they able to call the 2nd number?

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by virgusa » Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:50 am

I can call out to the second number.

ntoy

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by ntoy » Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:05 am

Please send me a pm with recent examples of the failed calls: date, time, outbound phone number, symptom.
I assume you can call a local store like a pizza place in the same area code?

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by virgusa » Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:11 pm

ntoy wrote:Please send me a pm with recent examples of the failed calls: date, time, outbound phone number, symptom.
I assume you can call a local store like a pizza place in the same area code?
Where is the pm link? I see an email link.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by murphy » Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:31 pm

The envelope is the PM link.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: AT&T Cell Phone

Post by virgusa » Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:49 pm

ntoy wrote:Please send me a pm with recent examples of the failed calls: date, time, outbound phone number, symptom.
I assume you can call a local store like a pizza place in the same area code?
Just sent the info. Thanks.

Post Reply