Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
zmcmahan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:24 pm

Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by zmcmahan » Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:27 pm

Hi all. Just hooked up my Ooma Telo tonight. I applied to port my number and got a temporary number. I hooked the Ooma up to one phone in my house, and no others (they are still hooked up to landline number). When I call out from that phone, it works fine. I connect with who I'm calling. When they try to call my new Ooma number, they get a fast busy signal. Any ideas? The Ooma is hooked up behind my router and modem (I didn't want to do it in between as I am running a gigabit network).

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:44 pm

You don't have anything plugged into the wall port of the Telo do you?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

zmcmahan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by zmcmahan » Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:48 pm

lbmofo wrote:You don't have anything plugged into the wall port of the Telo do you?
No. The Wall port of the Telo is empty. Just a phone cord from "Phone" to the phone I'm using.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:50 pm

Did you try calling your ooma using your cell?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

zmcmahan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by zmcmahan » Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:57 pm

lbmofo wrote:Did you try calling your ooma using your cell?
Yes. I get "The call cannot be connected at this time. Please try again later"...or something of that nature. All lights on the Ooma are blue, if that matters.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Sounds like a routing issue with ooma's carrier. Unless others chime in here with other toughts, you would need to call customer service. In the meantime, setup your voicemail. https://www.ooma.com/support/knowledgeb ... menu-guide I highly doubt that it is the problem but something you have to do anyway :cool:
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

zmcmahan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by zmcmahan » Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:33 pm

lbmofo wrote:Sounds like a routing issue with ooma's carrier. Unless others chime in here with other toughts, you would need to call customer service. In the meantime, setup your voicemail. https://www.ooma.com/support/knowledgeb ... menu-guide I highly doubt that it is the problem but something you have to do anyway :cool:
Just setup my voicemail, and same problem. I've tried restarting the Ooma and my router...no dice. Thanks for your quick responses though. Off to clal Customer Service.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:39 pm

The "The call cannot be connected at this time. Please try again later" sounds like a phone network type issue vs your internet, ooma device, or ooma server having issues.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

zmcmahan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:24 pm

Re: Fast busy signal with incoming calls

Post by zmcmahan » Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:02 pm

Number change did the trick...I don't really care since it's a temporary while mine is being ported. Thanks for the replies and help.

Post Reply