Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
MsCoulter
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:54 pm

Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by MsCoulter » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:17 am

Hello,

I have the ooma hub and scout and opted out of premiere service. The problem is that when I try to answer a phone attached to the scout I just get the ooma dial tone. If I pick it up and hit the flash button, I also get the ooma dial tone and the caller is cut off. I am using a traditional landline phone that does not have caller ID with the scout. I am able to place calls from this phone with no problem. It just won't answer a call. Any ideas of what could be wrong? :?: TIA! --sandy

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by southsound » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:23 am

It sounds like you may have assigned the scout as a personal device - in other words, with its own number. You can check this in my.ooma.com
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

ntoy

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by ntoy » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:31 am

Hello,

The account I show registered for you has core service(sinlge line).
Is there another account that has premiere service?

MsCoulter
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by MsCoulter » Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:47 am

ntoy wrote:Hello,

The account I show registered for you has core service(sinlge line).
Is there another account that has premiere service?
No sir, there is no other account. I hope you can help me. Thanks!

ntoy

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by ntoy » Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:56 pm

Since your number ported over to Ooma, you now have nonlandline config.

You can try connecting the scout's wall port directly to the hub's wall port:

Move the scout & scout’s power supply by the hub.
With the hub displaying a blue tab, take a phone cable & connect one end to the scout’s wall port on the back.
Take the other end & plug into the hub’s wall port on the back.
Power up the scout & allow a few minutes – the tab on the scout should turn blue.

Then try having someone call to test.

MsCoulter
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by MsCoulter » Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:56 pm

ntoy wrote:Since your number ported over to Ooma, you now have nonlandline config.

You can try connecting the scout's wall port directly to the hub's wall port:

Move the scout & scout’s power supply by the hub.
With the hub displaying a blue tab, take a phone cable & connect one end to the scout’s wall port on the back.
Take the other end & plug into the hub’s wall port on the back.
Power up the scout & allow a few minutes – the tab on the scout should turn blue.

Then try having someone call to test.
What is the point of doing that? I need the scout upstairs, not next to the hub!

murphy
Posts: 7241
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by murphy » Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:58 pm

MsCoulter wrote:
ntoy wrote:Since your number ported over to Ooma, you now have nonlandline config.

You can try connecting the scout's wall port directly to the hub's wall port:

Move the scout & scout’s power supply by the hub.
With the hub displaying a blue tab, take a phone cable & connect one end to the scout’s wall port on the back.
Take the other end & plug into the hub’s wall port on the back.
Power up the scout & allow a few minutes – the tab on the scout should turn blue.

Then try having someone call to test.
What is the point of doing that? I need the scout upstairs, not next to the hub!
That will verify that the hub scout interface is working correctly and the problem is with the wiring in your walls.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

MsCoulter
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: Unable to answer phone attached to the scout

Post by MsCoulter » Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:08 pm

murphy wrote:
MsCoulter wrote:
ntoy wrote:Since your number ported over to Ooma, you now have nonlandline config.

You can try connecting the scout's wall port directly to the hub's wall port:

Move the scout & scout’s power supply by the hub.
With the hub displaying a blue tab, take a phone cable & connect one end to the scout’s wall port on the back.
Take the other end & plug into the hub’s wall port on the back.
Power up the scout & allow a few minutes – the tab on the scout should turn blue.

Then try having someone call to test.
What is the point of doing that? I need the scout upstairs, not next to the hub!
That will verify that the hub scout interface is working correctly and the problem is with the wiring in your walls.
I meant to write sooner but was distracted. somehow it corrected itself and I can answer the phones on the scout...I can't explain it.

Post Reply