Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
#50000 by njmurvin
Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:08 pm
I'm new to Ooma Telo. Love it so far.

Currently, while waiting for my home phone number to port, I have a simple corded phone connected to the Ooma phone port to play around with. I can see how to switch from line 1 to 2 and back by "flashing". I will be connecting a Uniden cordless unit with 6 handsets to the Ooma. My question is, if a call is active on line 1 and I want to initiate a call on line 2, can I still "flash" to get to line 2 or will this functionality require the Telo handset?
#50011 by southsound
Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:35 pm
njmurvin wrote: Can I combine my existing Uniden (on the phone port) with 2-3 Telo handsets?

Yes! That is exactly what I do. And not more than 20 minutes ago my wife was on one of our Uniden handsets (ours only came with 5 handsets so I bought two sets of them - one for our landline, one for our Telo). I was expecting a fax on the landline and another call - but no problem. The call came in on my Telo handset just fine. I only have two of the Telo handsets but love the flexibility they give me. You will be very happy adding them to your system. Just as a reminder, you need to have Premier to have more than one conversation on the Telo. But the extra features are great! You get an additional number, enhanced voicemail, and more.
#50013 by njmurvin
Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:45 pm
Thanks for the feedback. Yes, I was aware of the need for Premier for 2 lines. I am a little disappointed that you can't click over to the second line while a conversation is active on the first line - the same as you can from a dial tone. It's ironic that the only time you can get to the second line from a non-Telo phone is when the first line is open - when you don't really NEED the second line.