I can't call 800 Numbers !

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
whn
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:36 pm

I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by whn » Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:26 pm

I can't call 800 numbers
try these

1-800-555-TELL
or
877-547-7272

or others.

at first , I thought it was only 877 numbers, but now its also 800 numbers .

trying 866 numbers now.

It says

WERE SORRY YOUR CALL DID NOT GO THROUGH .
Last edited by whn on Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by southsound » Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:31 pm

Might be a regional problem or maybe just a particular routing table. I was able to reach Tell me (the first number) and Papa John's (the second one) with no problem. Well, maybe just a little one. I was tempted to order a pizza but just had a late lunch and thought it might spoil my dinner. Calls went through fine though.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

whn
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:36 pm

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by whn » Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:44 pm

southsound wrote:Might be a regional problem or maybe just a particular routing table.
I guess its only in my area then?


Do u think this is a temporary problem then?

What is a routing table?

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by southsound » Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:48 pm

I would think it is probably a temporary problem, but if it persists into tomorrow I would call support with the times and numbers that were unsuccessful and see if they could research.

The routing tables are basically "maps" of how a carrier connects your ooma VOIP call to the required called party. ooma has the capability of checking to see what pathway was used in the failed attempt to connect your call.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

whn
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:36 pm

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by whn » Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:50 pm

southsound wrote:I would think it is probably a temporary problem, but if it persists into tomorrow I would call support with the times and numbers that were unsuccessful and see if they could research.

The routing tables are basically "maps" of how a carrier connects your ooma VOIP call to the required called party. ooma has the capability of checking to see what pathway was used in the failed attempt to connect your call.

i'll give it a day and see if this still happens tomorrow.

It started happening last night 2/16/2010

loelee16
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:27 am

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by loelee16 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:26 pm

For me, when I call a 800 number, it says "the number you are dialing is temporarily unavailable". It has been happening over a month...

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by amoney » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:55 pm

No issues here.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

loelee16
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:27 am

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by loelee16 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:33 pm

amoney wrote:No issues here.
can you or someone please try calling 18003834600 and see what kind of message do you hear?

thanks...

whn
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:36 pm

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by whn » Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:48 pm

loelee16 wrote:
amoney wrote:No issues here.
can you or someone please try calling 18003834600 and see what kind of message do you hear?

thanks...
ONE RING Then

"We're sorry the call did not go through"

is what I got.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: I can't call 800 Numbers !

Post by Groundhound » Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:50 pm

loelee16 wrote:
amoney wrote:No issues here.
can you or someone please try calling 18003834600 and see what kind of message do you hear?

thanks...
I get the "temporarily unavailable" message when I call that number from my Ooma phone. If I call that number from my cell phone I get a fast busy. Sounds like something wrong on the other end. Other 800 numbers work fine for me.

Post Reply