Can't call certain numbers!

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
billcoff
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:32 pm

Re: Can't call certain numbers!

Post by billcoff » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:54 pm

murphy wrote:
billcoff wrote:i have called certain numbers where it rings a few times and then asks for my password. If i call the same number from my cellphone, it goes right through.
Go to your Ooma account at my .ooma.com and disable the connection tone.
Thanks! That was a big help that I don't think I would have ever figured out on my own.

hingli
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:52 pm

Re: Can't call certain numbers!

Post by hingli » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:39 pm

I am having the same problem.

When I'm calling with my area code (With and without the country code) (Eg. 415-123-4567 or 1-415-123-4567) I get a busy tone (100% of the time), calling without the area code and country code works but only goes through about 75% of the time.
ooma Telo (Premier)
Port Started: Feb. 24, 2010; Port Expected: March 23, 2010
Internet: Cable 8Mb/1Mb

mthomtech
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Can't call certain numbers!

Post by mthomtech » Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:42 pm

Have you enabled 10-digit dialing in your ooma account? If you enable it, the 10-digit dialing should work.
Ooma Customer since March 2009
Ooma Hardware: Hub/Scout(2) and Telo
Premier Member

hingli
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:52 pm

Re: Can't call certain numbers!

Post by hingli » Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:21 pm

mthomtech wrote:Have you enabled 10-digit dialing in your ooma account? If you enable it, the 10-digit dialing should work.
That fixed it but what happens when you call internationally since it 10 digit dialing? Will it disable the feature when calling internationally?
ooma Telo (Premier)
Port Started: Feb. 24, 2010; Port Expected: March 23, 2010
Internet: Cable 8Mb/1Mb

mthomtech
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Can't call certain numbers!

Post by mthomtech » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:18 pm

No, you'd call internationally as you normally would, with the country code, etc, etc.

The 10-digit dialing is just about the local 7 or 10 digit dialing.
Ooma Customer since March 2009
Ooma Hardware: Hub/Scout(2) and Telo
Premier Member

pushout
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:27 am

Re: Can't call certain numbers!

Post by pushout » Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:08 am

When calling ATT cell phones change the ringtone connection to "disable". Otherwise ATT cell phone will interpert the connection tone as an attempt to enter voicemail and ask for a password.

Post Reply