First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:05 am

Do you have Premier service?
Instant second number?

Wayne

trim81
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:14 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by trim81 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:11 am

Yes premier and second line

Been ooma'ing for a while now(white rabbit) so I know the ropes...

I don't think this update has fully been pushed,wondering why it works for the poster above and not me

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by murphy » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:20 am

WayneDsr wrote:
Nope not working
Make sure you're dialing only 7 digits, then hit # (xxx-xxxx#)
And you need to have Premier.
Wayne
It doesn't work.
I can't use 7 digit dialing since it was outlawed in my area code 15 years ago. Also my second line is in a different area code so it has to be specified.

Phone number 1 calling phone number 2 gets phone number 2"s voicemail without requiring a pin.

Phone number 2 calling phone number 1 get's phone number 1's voicemail without requiring a pin.

The pins are different for the two numbers.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by southsound » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:23 am

Doesn't work for me either. Even tried it with a * in case there was a typo. Same result every time - voicemail without needing a pin.

I have ooma without Premier.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:27 am

That's odd. I can call my number with the # everytime and my second line rings and I can answer it. Very strange.

Wayne

bryanlyle
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by bryanlyle » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:35 am

murphy wrote:
WayneDsr wrote:
Nope not working
Make sure you're dialing only 7 digits, then hit # (xxx-xxxx#)
And you need to have Premier.
Wayne
It doesn't work.
I can't use 7 digit dialing since it was outlawed in my area code 15 years ago. Also my second line is in a different area code so it has to be specified.

Phone number 1 calling phone number 2 gets phone number 2"s voicemail without requiring a pin.

Phone number 2 calling phone number 1 get's phone number 1's voicemail without requiring a pin.

The pins are different for the two numbers.
When I dialed the 10 digit #, it didn't work for me either. It only worked when I dialed 7 digits and a # at the end.
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:39 am

Thanks bryanlyle for confirming this. I thought I was going bonkers.

Wayne

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:15 am

I unchecked 10 digit calling in preferences and could not use the # to call my second line. So, you must have 10 digit calling enabled in preferences.

Wayne

rbuck
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:43 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by rbuck » Tue May 12, 2009 3:49 pm

Yay!!! That works for me, I am able to dial the number assigned to my Scout using the 7-digit number ending with # symbol. I do have Ooma Premier and do have 10-digit dialing disabled in Preferences-System.

STILL UNRESOLVED: The Scout cannot use this trick to call the main number. So Gramma still can't call us upstairs, but we can call her now. Come on Ooma, please give us a workaround!

Note: I should mention, I do live in an area which requires 10-digit dialing. My local calls still work however, I believe the 10-digit dialing option in Preferences-System allows you to drop the 1 when dialing long distance.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Tue May 12, 2009 4:23 pm

Since I only have one number, I can dial from the Scout and ring the hub.


Wayne

Post Reply