First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
scarson6
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:44 am

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by scarson6 » Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:06 pm

Let me just add my vote that Ooma should make it possible for the hub phone to call the scout phone. I have a two-story house with the office on one line and the home phone on the other and it would be very handy to be able "call home" now and then.

And yes, perhaps, that makes me lazy.

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by Bobby B » Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:29 pm

This specific bug (where different personal devices could access the voicemail of each other on the same ooma system) has been resolved. I think we'll see it deployed out to devices in the next upgrade in a few weeks.
Bobby B wrote:
murphy wrote: Althouigh not my current situation here is another more annoying problem.
The second line is for your mother-in-law who lives with you. The problem with calling the other number going to the answering machine is that it DOESN'T ask for the pin. Thus your mother-in-law can access your voicemail and you can access hers without knowing each other's pins. That is family problem waiting to happen.
You're right, that shouldn't be the correct behavior. One account shouldn't be able to access the voicemail of another account without entering a PIN number. I'll get a bug filed for that.
Bobby B

rbuck
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:43 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by rbuck » Tue Mar 24, 2009 10:56 am

Thanks Luva, but this is a thread for people with more than one Ooma line being prevented from calling between lines. Back to the topic. This sucks. Give us a workaround.

swatts
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:26 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by swatts » Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:20 am

Bobby B wrote:
murphy wrote: Why I want to do this is not important to the discussion.

Is this a bug or "working as designed"?

It's working by design. The way ooma has been engineered - the system always expects phone calls to come in from the ooma network, not from within the system itself.

Is there a reason you were looking for this functionality?
Or if you have a large home like I do and the main line is on one end of the house and the scout (my daughter's line) is one the other end of the house. I would like to be able to call her instead of YELLING across the house.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:22 am

I may have found a work around for this:

Dialing your own number while at home will get you into your voicemail.
BUT
If I dial my own ooma number and place a # sign after the number, line 2 rings. If someone on the Scout picks up the call, we can talk to each other.

I only have one ooma number, I would be curious to see if this work around could be used to call your second ooma number, by placing a # sign after the number.

In any case, I was able to call my Scout from my Hub using this procedure.

Wayne

trim81
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:14 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by trim81 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:50 am

WayneDsr wrote:I may have found a work around for this:

Dialing your own number while at home will get you into your voicemail.
BUT
If I dial my own ooma number and place a # sign after the number, line 2 rings. If someone on the Scout picks up the call, we can talk to each other.

I only have one ooma number, I would be curious to see if this work around could be used to call your second ooma number, by placing a # sign after the number.

In any case, I was able to call my Scout from my Hub using this procedure.

Nope, not working

Wayne

trim81
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:14 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by trim81 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:51 am

Nope not working

bryanlyle
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by bryanlyle » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:53 am

WayneDsr wrote:I may have found a work around for this:

Dialing your own number while at home will get you into your voicemail.
BUT
If I dial my own ooma number and place a # sign after the number, line 2 rings. If someone on the Scout picks up the call, we can talk to each other.

I only have one ooma number, I would be curious to see if this work around could be used to call your second ooma number, by placing a # sign after the number.

In any case, I was able to call my Scout from my Hub using this procedure.

Wayne
I was able to call the # of the scout with the # sign after it and the scout rang and was able to talk (and since it was an Ooma -> Ooma call, CID actually worked).

Also was able to call the hub from the scout.
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:01 am

Nope not working
Make sure you're dialing only 7 digits, then hit # (xxx-xxxx#)
And you need to have Premier.
Wayne
Last edited by WayneDsr on Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

trim81
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:14 pm

Re: First ooma line can't call second ooma line

Post by trim81 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:02 am

7, 10, 11. Won't work

Post Reply