Can't receive phone calls.

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
puzzledjim
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:30 pm

Can't receive phone calls.

Post by puzzledjim » Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:34 pm

Just setup ooma hub with scout system today, as shown in fig. F page 21 of the Quick Start Guide (not using scout).
When a call came in I picked up phone to answer the new system and I got a ooma dial tone, no person on other end.
So then I thought I better test the system using my cell phone to my home (hub) number (not a ooma number) to see if I get voice mail, rang to set number of rings, but went dead in 10 seconds with no setup voice mail greeting.
I called again from my cell and this time picked up after 2 rings, could hear my voice for about 2 seconds and went dead.
Does anyone out there have any thoughts on this?
Thank you.

murphy
Posts: 7241
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by murphy » Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:38 pm

I'm unclear on whether you set up your voice mail.
Pick up the phone that is connected to the hub and then press the play button to begin voice mail setup.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

puzzledjim
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by puzzledjim » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:36 pm

Already did that during the the activation.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by bw1 » Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:15 pm

Did you integrate your existing landline when you activated or select a new Ooma phone number?

BTW, I don't see a page 21 in the QSG - https://www.ooma.com/sites/default/file ... e_revA.pdf

puzzledjim
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by puzzledjim » Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:26 pm

Existing landline and with that link it would be the page 18, third figure down phone/DSL (integrated router).

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by bw1 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:15 am

I assume you have a blue tab on the Hub and your landline connected to the wall port of the Hub and you can make outgoing calls, including local and long distance.

Did you connect the wall port to your phone jack through a DSL filter?

Do you have another phone connected to another wall jack and do calls to the landline ring the other phone? Can you answer the landline from another phone?

There is lots of information about integrated landlines on the forum: search.php?keywords=integrated+landline ... mit=Search

Many of us recommend keeping the landline and Ooma service separate.

puzzledjim
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by puzzledjim » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:48 am

Blue tab is on, all DSL filters taken off and yes I have a phone in another phone jack and I can answer on that one.
The Ooma will answer and can hear a voice for about 2 seconds then it switches to the ooma dial tone.
If I do not answer it rings for the set amount of rings I setup in preferences, but does not go to voice mail that I setup at activation.
The only line that is coming into the house is a DSL/landline connection which I will change to just DSL and transfer my existing number to ooma when I get this to work, but don't want to do that yet and take a chance of losing my number.
I will take a look at the link you suggested.
Thank you for your help.

feartheturtle
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:02 am
Location: Maryland

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by feartheturtle » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:07 am

I am not very familiar with DSL service/devices - but shouldn't there be a DSL filter on the line plugged into the wall port of the Hub? Better yet would be to remove the DSL signal from line 1 phone wiring if possible, and route it to the DSL modem directly.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by bw1 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:05 am

feartheturtle wrote:I am not very familiar with DSL service/devices - but shouldn't there be a DSL filter on the line plugged into the wall port of the Hub? Better yet would be to remove the DSL signal from line 1 phone wiring if possible, and route it to the DSL modem directly.
I'm not very familiar with DSL either, but I think you're right.

You could also try a factory reset of the Hub.

puzzledjim
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:30 pm

Re: Can't receive phone calls.

Post by puzzledjim » Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:37 pm

I tried both with and without DSL filter. Yesterday I could call out, but not receive, today can't do either, calling out to any number I get a busy signal.
I have talked with support and did some line speed checks, reset pushing on ooma tab while unplugging and plugging in and now waiting for an engineer contact with a ticket number.
Thank you all for your input.

Post Reply