My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
sc4880dc
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:57 pm

My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by sc4880dc » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:32 pm

My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by southsound » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:40 pm

Check to see if a little envelope button is illuminated. On the hub (white ooma) it will be a button with a red light on. The Telo will have a little envelope in red. Hold either one down for about 4 seconds. It will go out and your phone will ring again. If no lights are showing, on the hub there is a little dimmer wheel on the right hand side. On the Telo, it is the starburst * button.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

sc4880dc
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by sc4880dc » Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:45 pm

I have the hub and there is no light on

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by southsound » Tue Jan 05, 2010 7:13 am

Is the blue tab illuminated?

Also, can you tell us a little about your configuration? Cable or DSL, did you choose to integrate your landline or do you have an ooma number? What is plugged into the hub and where?
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

sc4880dc
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by sc4880dc » Tue Jan 05, 2010 7:30 am

Is
Also, can you tell us a little about your configuration? Cable or DSL, did you choose to integrate your landline or do you have an ooma number? What is plugged into the hub and where?


the blue tab is illuminated, YES I have Cable integrate your landline, YES I am porting my current phone number

I am now using Vonage. A tech from OOMA helped me set it up the OOMA HUG (white) but I didn't know the phone didn't ring whem some calls me. Should I have bought the Black OOMA instead of the Black OOMA?

I have the cable from the OOMA modem port going to the router open port.

I have wall port on OOMA going to to my wall jack and one going to the phone port on the vonage,

I have a single phone hook up to the phone port on the OOMA.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by southsound » Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:50 pm

sc4880dc wrote:Is
Also, can you tell us a little about your configuration? Cable or DSL, did you choose to integrate your landline or do you have an ooma number? What is plugged into the hub and where?


the blue tab is illuminated, YES I have Cable integrate your landline, YES I am porting my current phone number

I am now using Vonage. A tech from OOMA helped me set it up the OOMA HUG (white) but I didn't know the phone didn't ring whem some calls me. Should I have bought the Black OOMA instead of the Black OOMA?

I have the cable from the OOMA modem port going to the router open port.
This will work fine. Many of us use the hub or Telo after our router.
I have wall port on OOMA going to to my wall jack and one going to the phone port on the vonage,
I don't know if you are using a splitter here or not. You should NOT be. Until you get ported I would just connect a single cable from the vonage phone port to the ooma's wall port. This provides vonage dialtone to the ooma. No other phones should be connected here. For the time being, you can leave your home wiring out of the picture unless you want to feed it from the ooma's phone jack (which you talk about in your next point.
I have a single phone hook up to the phone port on the OOMA.
You may continue to use this single phone or you can power the rest of your home's wiring by plugging a single line splitter into the ooma phone jack and having one port go to the wall (feeding ooma dialtone to the rest of the house) and one port for the cordless phone.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

sc4880dc
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by sc4880dc » Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:40 pm

southsound wrote:
sc4880dc wrote:Is
Also, can you tell us a little about your configuration? Cable or DSL, did you choose to integrate your landline or do you have an ooma number? What is plugged into the hub and where?


the blue tab is illuminated, YES I have Cable integrate your landline, YES I am porting my current phone number

I am now using Vonage. A tech from OOMA helped me set it up the OOMA HUG (white) but I didn't know the phone didn't ring whem some calls me. Should I have bought the Black OOMA instead of the Black OOMA?

I have the cable from the OOMA modem port going to the router open port.
This will work fine. Many of us use the hub or Telo after our router.
I have wall port on OOMA going to to my wall jack and one going to the phone port on the vonage,
I don't know if you are using a splitter here or not. You should NOT be. Until you get ported I would just connect a single cable from the vonage phone port to the ooma's wall port. This provides vonage dialtone to the ooma. No other phones should be connected here. For the time being, you can leave your home wiring out of the picture unless you want to feed it from the ooma's phone jack (which you talk about in your next point.
I have a single phone hook up to the phone port on the OOMA.
You may continue to use this single phone or you can power the rest of your home's wiring by plugging a single line splitter into the ooma phone jack and having one port go to the wall (feeding ooma dialtone to the rest of the house) and one port for the cordless phone.


THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP, IT'S WORKING FINE NOW ................

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: My phone does not RING When I receive a call?

Post by southsound » Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:46 pm

Awesome! Glad to have helped. :cool:
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply