2 line set up question.

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
jkjflee
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:25 pm

2 line set up question.

Post by jkjflee » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:12 pm

Here is my set up.

I have the hub and the scout set up with my configuration.
I also have a wireless Panasonic phone with 4 hand sets plugged into the hub upstairs. I have another wireless Panasonic phone with 4 hand set plug into the Hub downstairs. I am in the trial period and have signed up for the premier.

I am looking for a answer to this question. When the phone rings (say on line 1) and we answer it. The phone may be for the person in another part of the home. When they pick up another phone they automatically go to line 2 and cannot join in on line 1. Can the other person somehow pick up the phone and join in on line 1?

Thanks

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by murphy » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:19 pm

Push the flash button on the handset that you want to join the call.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

jkjflee
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:25 pm

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by jkjflee » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:24 pm

Thanks for the reply...

What happens when both lines are in use. How will the flash button get you to the correct line you want to join in on?

Thanks

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by Groundhound » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:54 pm

You should be able to toggle between the two in-use lines with the flash button.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by southsound » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:58 pm

jkjflee wrote:What happens when both lines are in use. How will the flash button get you to the correct line you want to join in on?
Groundhound wrote:You should be able to toggle between the two in-use lines with the flash button.
Actually, if both lines are in use, that means that one phone from each base station is connected. One to the hub and one to the scout. If someone picks up another phone, it will be from one of those two base stations and will not be able to switch to another line other than the one to which it's base is already connected. Flash does not work in this case because the first phone has the line siezed. Like when using two phones on a landline and a call waiting call comes in - you have to hang up one of the phones before the flash will be recognized by the co.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by Groundhound » Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:09 pm

Yep, southsound is correct - brainfart on my part.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by southsound » Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:13 pm

Groundhound wrote:Yep, southsound is correct - brainfart on my part.
No problem, my friend. Happens to all of use furry folks on occasion. :P
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

jkjflee
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:25 pm

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by jkjflee » Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:12 pm

Thanks everyone and Southsound You have always been able to help out and answer all my questions. VERY HELPFUL as always :D

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: 2 line set up question.

Post by southsound » Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:12 pm

Happy to help, Jeff. :P
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply