voicemail indicator doesn't flash when behind router

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
bgmcardl
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:57 am

voicemail indicator doesn't flash when behind router

Post by bgmcardl » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:36 am

First, I do have the brightness knobs turned up, and I KNOW I should have the ooma hub the first thing after the cable modem, but If I have it behind another router (old Linksys from Vonage), the voicemail light doesn't flash after a new message comes in.
Does anyone know what port I need to forward to the ooma hub to allow voicemail notifications through?

Bruce

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: voicemail indicator doesn't flash when behind router

Post by murphy » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:53 am

I recommend that you replace that Vonage router. Even if you no longer have an account it is talking to Vonage every day.

My hub is behind my router and the voice mail indicator works fine. No ports have been explicitly forwarded but the ooma hub is in the routers DMZ.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: voicemail indicator doesn't flash when behind router

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:55 am

Same here. Ooma is behind the router and have no voicemal light issues.

Wayne

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: voicemail indicator doesn't flash when behind router

Post by dtalwar » Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:58 am

Ditto ... no issues with voicemail indicator with the hub behind the router. Are you able to retrieve voicemails using handset? By hitting the Play button on the hub (even if the light is not flashing)?

User avatar
bgmcardl
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:57 am

Re: voicemail indicator doesn't flash when behind router

Post by bgmcardl » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:02 pm

I just checked it again and the voice mail does indeed light correctly when the hub is behind another router.
I did originally test this a couple hours after activating it, so maybe there was some delay for some features for new users.
Bruce

Post Reply