Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by bw1 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:35 pm

I may have mis-read, but it appears that Jonkee has tested and confirmed that ooma works by itself and is looking forward to the port completing and no longer having AT&T service.

It takes about 4 weeks to port in most cases. In my case, I was using ooma for about a week before I submitted my port request and it was complete in about 3 1/2 weeks. During the 4 1/2 weeks before my number ported I was using the ooma temporary number assigned to my account when I activated to make outgoing and a few incoming calls.

User avatar
christyb
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: 92677

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by christyb » Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:47 pm

I was under the impression (from cell phone number porting) that it was a virtually instantaneous process.

Thanks for the education!!

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by niknak » Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:56 am

christyb wrote:I was under the impression (from cell phone number porting) that it was a virtually instantaneous process.

Thanks for the education!!

Local number portability was originally designed so that consumers could change wireless providers quickly as you described. The government decreed a certain time frame for all wireless carriers to abide by

A few years later the law was changed to include ILECS and VOIP providers, however no time frames were included.

I have read here ports taking as few as 1 week to as much as two months - granted the ones taking 2 months usually had some problems associated with the accounts preventing port from happening.

3 to 4 weeks seems to be the average time to port for people here

Atalante1000
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:40 pm

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by Atalante1000 » Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:50 am

I have a simiar issue when dialing any 800 or 877 prefix. After about 20 seconds I get a buisy signal. I have a AT&T Calvantage line in process of being ported to Ooma.

I used my mobile and the CallVantage line and in both cases confirmed the numbers are correct and working.

Anybody else having difficulaty connecting to 8XX numbers? I use it to dial-in to Teleconferences and this is a show-stopper for me. I am hopefull this will go away when porting is complete.

Can anyone confirm that 8XX work with the 0oma service?

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:10 pm

Atalante1000 wrote:Can anyone confirm that 8XX work with the 0oma service?
Every 8xx call I have made has gone through okay.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by niknak » Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:19 pm

Atalante1000 wrote:I have a simiar issue when dialing any 800 or 877 prefix. After about 20 seconds I get a buisy signal. I have a AT&T Calvantage line in process of being ported to Ooma.

I used my mobile and the CallVantage line and in both cases confirmed the numbers are correct and working.

Anybody else having difficulaty connecting to 8XX numbers? I use it to dial-in to Teleconferences and this is a show-stopper for me. I am hopefull this will go away when porting is complete.

Can anyone confirm that 8XX work with the 0oma service?
This sounds like a routing problem that ooma's telephone partner (CLEC) is having. Call ooma support with the dates and times the calls were attempted. Their tech support people should be able to resolve this

Jan647
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:36 am

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by Jan647 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:54 am

This happens to me also. All Canadian government toll-free numbers (800, 877, etc.) are blocked this way. Today, I got a code "6129L". I purchased the unit in March 2013. Those numbers have never worked.

I purchased the base unit and the handset new including an Ooma phone number. Therefore, outside problems should not exist. By the way, I have a separate service on a different computer which works perfectly.

Ooma told me they do not support Canadian government numbers. I am having a hard time believing this. Can the Forum help me with this mystery?

joolsca
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:40 pm

Re: Local and 800 numbers lead to a busy signal... any ideas?

Post by joolsca » Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:44 am

I cannot call PC Plus (Loblaws rewards program) on their toll free number. Ooma states there is nothing that can be done.

This government number thing could be a big problem. I hope they are working on fixing that!

Post Reply