Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
#9922 by bc3tech
Tue May 19, 2009 5:50 am
I have my ooma preferences set up to block unavailable callers by sending them straight to voice mail. Last night, my phone rang and the caller ID said "UNAVAILABLE" - i picked up the phone expecting ooma's call screen, but it was indeed the caller!

Any thoughts?
#9923 by scottlindner
Tue May 19, 2009 6:00 am
bc3tech wrote:I have my ooma preferences set up to block unavailable callers by sending them straight to voice mail. Last night, my phone rang and the caller ID said "UNAVAILABLE" - i picked up the phone expecting ooma's call screen, but it was indeed the caller!

Any thoughts?

I am an Ooma newbie so I can't say I know too much just yet. Do you have your Ooma configured so that calls come in through a landline but go out through Ooma? If so, it's possible you picked up before Ooma did.

My other thought is that it takes two rings for the Caller ID information to come through, but I suspect Ooma is designed to not ring the phone until it has the Caller ID information, so I'm not sure if this two ring thing could be related or not.

Cheers,
Scott
#9925 by bc3tech
Tue May 19, 2009 6:38 am
scottlindner wrote:I am an Ooma newbie so I can't say I know too much just yet. Do you have your Ooma configured so that calls come in through a landline but go out through Ooma? If so, it's possible you picked up before Ooma did.

My other thought is that it takes two rings for the Caller ID information to come through, but I suspect Ooma is designed to not ring the phone until it has the Caller ID information, so I'm not sure if this two ring thing could be related or not.

Cheers,
Scott