RESOLVED-Odd local zone calls

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
dbarronoss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:42 am

RESOLVED-Odd local zone calls

Post by dbarronoss » Tue May 14, 2013 6:17 am

I found a number that my cell phone can reach successfully but I can't seem to reach on my Ooma line. It's local (about a mile from the house, and in same area code). However, I'm getting one ring and then nothing on Ooma, where it completes normally on my out of state cell phone.
Ideas ?
Hmm, just repeated it for another local zone call. Weird.
Last edited by dbarronoss on Tue May 14, 2013 7:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

dbarronoss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:42 am

Re: Odd local zone calls

Post by dbarronoss » Tue May 14, 2013 6:59 am

Also power cycled my Telo...and no change. Guess I'll chat with customer support.

Tech support advised me that I should dial the local area code with no prefix. I had been dialing as if it were a long distance number...it worked great!

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: RESOLVED-Odd local zone calls

Post by lbmofo » Tue May 14, 2013 8:17 am

https://my.ooma.com/system

Look into 10-digit dialing if haven't yet.

10-digit dialing lets you make long-distance calls without dialing the initial 1, just like on your cell phone.

This can introduce a short delay if you dial 7 digits for local calls. Press # after you dial to put the call through immediately.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

dbarronoss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:42 am

Re: RESOLVED-Odd local zone calls

Post by dbarronoss » Tue May 14, 2013 8:39 am

Yes, I had 10 digit dialing set in the preferences (already).

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: RESOLVED-Odd local zone calls

Post by lbmofo » Tue May 14, 2013 8:43 am

dbarronoss wrote:Yes, I had 10 digit dialing set in the preferences (already).
Then dialing 10 digits all the time should work fine.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

dbarronoss
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:42 am

Re: RESOLVED-Odd local zone calls

Post by dbarronoss » Tue May 14, 2013 9:12 am

You'd think...but it sure wasn't today.

Post Reply