New telo strange behavior

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
denmarks
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:09 am

New telo strange behavior

Post by denmarks » Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:37 am

Just upgraded from Hub to Telo. Hub worked fine but we thought call quality would be upgraded with Telo. Well, a couple of times I look at the telo and the Ooma logo is flashing red. I pick up the phone and it is a busy signal. First time I checked to see if any phone was off the hook and rebooted. Last night it was flashing again and busy signal again. Rebooted and same story. Seems internet was down. I bypassed ooma and put IP directly to router and still no Wifi. Reconnected everything as it should be and went to bed. Woke up about 4am and saw that Ooma was totally blue again. Maybe just a freak Comcast outage. I first suspected a defective ooma and then maybe a defective modem. But all is well now. Anyone have any ideas of what happened?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: New telo strange behavior

Post by lbmofo » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:18 am

Is Telo getting internet via ethernet or wifi?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
denmarks
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:09 am

Re: New telo strange behavior

Post by denmarks » Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:57 pm

Ethernet line from modem to Ooma and then I have line from Ooma to router. The reason I went directly to router bypassing ooma was to see if I was getting IP from modem.

I am wondering if modem is beginning to fault but it seems it would just go out completely not just come and go.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: New telo strange behavior

Post by lbmofo » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:09 pm

http://192.168.100.1

The cable modem page would tell you how long it has been online.....would tell you about when you last lost connection.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New telo strange behavior

Post by murphy » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:44 pm

denmarks wrote:Ethernet line from modem to Ooma and then I have line from Ooma to router. The reason I went directly to router bypassing ooma was to see if I was getting IP from modem.
Did you power cycle the modem when you did that?
It won't work if you don't.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
denmarks
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:09 am

Re: New telo strange behavior

Post by denmarks » Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:04 am

I did not.

GMOOMA
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:14 pm

Re: New telo strange behavior

Post by GMOOMA » Sat May 25, 2013 12:44 pm

Hmm, in the last couple of weeks I had to reboot my a once..
I did not know it could possibly be related to an ISP outage?.. usually the Telo recovers from this.. this is not typical.. and I usually check everything else before rebooting, just incase it is a firmware update in progress. I've found checking the Ooma site useful in knowing system status and current firmware update against what is already installed.

FYI 66439 (telo) is latest as of this post.

Post Reply