Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
Lord Vader
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:12 pm

Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Post by Lord Vader » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:27 am

Background info...

I have two numbers on my account: my "old" one (area code 630) that I've had for years, ported to Ooma one year ago this month when I switched over here. A second number (area code 832) I got in a different state anticipating a job relocation. Well, in mid-August I did, in fact, move to that new state. I then called Ooma to change my second number to be my primary, and my primary to be my secondary one (so friends and relatives back north could still dial that old number that I've had for 14 years).

My parents are longtime Vonage customers (don't suggest they switch to Ooma, because with three lines in their house--one home, one business, and one fax, it's much too cost prohibitive for them to switch), and whenever they call from either of their two house lines--the home OR business line, they can never get a quality call when calling my old primary number that is now my secondary number. The thing is, even before I switched my primary and secondary numbers, they'd call my 630 # and could never hold a conversation. They could hear me fine, but there was NO sound or anything coming from their end. It was all horribly garbled and broken up. They'd hang up and call me back on my 832 # and everything would be just fine.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Post by thunderbird » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:27 am

Lord Vader:
Ooma is "pushing" out a new Ooma Telo firmware release 63430 over the next three weeks. If you view the release notes at viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14769, it appears that maybe the new firmware may help your problems????

Lord Vader
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:12 pm

Re: Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Post by Lord Vader » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:33 am

I don't see anywhere in those release notes that the new firmware will address my issue.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Post by thunderbird » Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:38 pm

Lord Vader wrote:I don't see anywhere in those release notes that the new firmware will address my issue.
Quote:
Fix issue that may cause audio loss from remote party until a reboot occurs [9681]

Lord Vader
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:12 pm

Re: Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Post by Lord Vader » Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:59 pm

Well, we shall see if that does it, because I wouldn't categorize it as an audio loss; rather, it's a horrible break up and garbled reception.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Relatives cannot get through on one of my lines

Post by lbmofo » Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:15 pm

Since you have 2 numbers and only 1 number has issues, must be routing issue. I'd call customer service to have them look into it.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply