Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
daverdfw
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:54 pm

Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by daverdfw » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:55 pm

Not sure what happened, but I can receive calls, and i get a dialtone, but when i dial a number it just sits there. Any ideas?

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by thunderbird » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:57 pm

daverdfw wrote:Not sure what happened, but I can receive calls, and i get a dialtone, but when i dial a number it just sits there. Any ideas?
First remove power from the Ooma device. wait five minutes and then repower the Ooma device and test.

daverdfw
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by daverdfw » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:58 pm

thunderbird wrote:
daverdfw wrote:Not sure what happened, but I can receive calls, and i get a dialtone, but when i dial a number it just sits there. Any ideas?
First remove power from the Ooma device. wait five minutes and then repower the Ooma device and test.

i have removed power, but not for 5 minutes, ill try that and report back, thanks!

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by thunderbird » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:08 pm

daverdfw wrote:
thunderbird wrote:
daverdfw wrote:Not sure what happened, but I can receive calls, and i get a dialtone, but when i dial a number it just sits there. Any ideas?
First remove power from the Ooma device. wait five minutes and then repower the Ooma device and test.

i have removed power, but not for 5 minutes, ill try that and report back, thanks!
If that doesn't work, try dialing *98 or *96 for an Ooma Telo or *99 for an Ooma Hub, before the number being called. Example: *98-1-xxx-xxx-xxxx


Also dial *#*#001 with a phone connected to the Ooma Telo phone port - Speaks the version of software from Ooma Telo speaker.
The newest release Ooma Telo firmware is version 60118, was supposed to have been released yesterday.

If you still have problems, report in this tread what version of Ooma Telo firmware you have.
Last edited by thunderbird on Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daverdfw
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by daverdfw » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:40 pm

so the reboot didnt work, but the *96 did, what does that mean?

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by thunderbird » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:54 pm

daverdfw wrote:so the reboot didnt work, but the *96 did, what does that mean?
*96 Use low-bandwidth codec (iLBC) for this phone call, (codec that Ooma normally uses but no HD high definition)
*98 Use high-bandwidth codec (G711) for this phone call

Sometimes all you have to do is use one of the above star codes for a few calls, then the Ooma phone system will call out normally without the star code.
Last edited by thunderbird on Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daverdfw
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by daverdfw » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:55 pm

*98 sounded all garbled, *96 worked fine though.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by lbmofo » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:35 pm

Something might be going on with your internet quality. Check this out: viewtopic.php?t=10023
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

cbeyer
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 3:44 pm
Location: central Indiana
Contact:

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by cbeyer » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:13 pm

Same problem here; receive calls fine. All lights blue.
Dialing out results in Fast Busy.
Tried 5 minute power off reset.
Tried *96
Tried *98
Getting pretty annoying, fortunately waiting on number tranfer so am not dependent on OOMA yet.
Any more suggestions?

oh, 60080 is sw version
Last edited by cbeyer on Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can receive calls, get dialtone, but outbound stopped workin

Post by thunderbird » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:19 pm

cbeyer wrote:Same problem here; receive calls fine. All lights blue.
Dialing out results in Fast Busy.
Tried 5 minute power off reset.
Tried *96
Tried *98
Getting pretty annoying, fortunately waiting on number tranfer so am not dependent on OOMA yet.
Any more suggestions?
Make sure ten digit calling is Enabled in My Ooma https://my.ooma.com/system .

Some people have luck using *82 (Send outgoing caller-id for this phone call & For dialling 8xx & 9xx numbers).

Power off for one hour, one hour allows the Ooma servers to rebuild/repair/correct your Ooma profile.

Post Reply