Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
#93919 by bmsgaffer86
Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:01 pm
Hello,

I am new to Ooma but have had my fair share of experiences so far. The night I installed it, it worked great. I made several outgoing and incoming calls with no problem.

The next evening, someone called me and I could hear them, but they could not hear me. Also, when I went to dial out, I would push a key and hear the keytone but the dialtone would never stop. The red '1' on the ooma lit, but the Telo never responded to anything I dialed. The next day it worked fine again and I assumed it was just a hiccup. Now the issue has reoccurred and I am worried about reliability.

I have been talking to service and they are fussing with lots of network issues. They told me if I can receive calls and the red light comes on when the line is off hook there is (and i quote) "nothing wrong with the Ooma device at all, it is working perfectly fine" but I feel almost certain that it has to do with the phone port on the telo. When I did get to make calls, and when i receive calls the quality was great, but now it wont even attempt to.

Should I be asking for a new Ooma? (i have rebooted many times in many orders, tried new phones, cords, QoS, etc. All the settings are back to default)

And of course as I finish this post I find a direct correlation to the problem. If I push around on the jack in the Ooma while on a call it will cut in and out. There seems to be some internal solder connection or circuitry problem. Definitely asking for a new Telo I will post anyway for your suggestions and to help anyone else out.

Brandon
#93922 by lbmofo
Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Try a different phone (borrow if you have to; hardwired phone to try would be best to rule out Telo problem). Are you using a cordless phone that's not DECT 6? Get a DECT 6 phone if hardwired phone works fine.
#93932 by thunderbird