Incoming Caller ID shows Unknown

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
cld62034
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:30 am

Incoming Caller ID shows Unknown

Post by cld62034 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:38 am

Greetings,
I just activated my Ooma today. Caller ID shows incoming caller as "UNKNOWN". I am having my current number ported over and I am using my existing phone number instead of a temporary number from Ooma.
Do I need to wait for the port process to complete before called ID will work?
Any thoughts on my issue?
Thanks.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Incoming Caller ID shows Unknown

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:45 am

You'd have to subscribe to callerid on your existing service in order to see incoming callerid in your particular setup. Even if you do, there are reported cases of it not working in landline integration mode (using your own number). In standalone mode (either Ooma assign you a number or after your port completes), the callerid works fine (some folks have issues with certain phone models such as GE for example but rare).
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

cld62034
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:30 am

Re: Incoming Caller ID shows Unknown

Post by cld62034 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:23 am

Thanks for the information.
FYI.
I do have caller ID from current phone service provider (ATT).
I have a Panosonic DECT 6.0 connected to my Ooma (caller ID shows Unknown).
I have Vtech DECT 6.0 elsewhere in the house and the caller ID is working properly.
It appears that I will need to wait for the port process to complete to verify caller ID works with my phone and Ooma.
Thanks again.

ntoy

Re: Incoming Caller ID shows Unknown

Post by ntoy » Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:19 pm

cld62034 wrote:Thanks for the information.
FYI.
I do have caller ID from current phone service provider (ATT).
I have a Panosonic DECT 6.0 connected to my Ooma (caller ID shows Unknown).
I have Vtech DECT 6.0 elsewhere in the house and the caller ID is working properly.
It appears that I will need to wait for the port process to complete to verify caller ID works with my phone and Ooma.
Thanks again.
Hello,

Yes, currently a bug in our system with Landline config. Some options would be: You may want to keep a cid phone connected to your physical wall jack to receive cid from your provider or call our support folks to change you to a temp number or wait till porting completes.

Post Reply