Cannot call my number

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Cannot call my number

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:50 am

This is the first time anyone mentioned this to me, but I had someone tell me today that they can't call my phone number.
It was a TV repair service, said they tried calling my number for 3 days and all they got was a beep. I finally called them to see why they hadn't shown up.
They're from the same area as me, their phone number is 574-234-XXXX, and my ooma number is 574-807-XXXX.
I asked the lady what kind of phone system she had but she had no idea.
*Also a possiblity that they never called me but........

Anyone ever had this kind of complaint?

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Cannot call my number

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:21 am

Ok, well I know more now; I asked the service guy that picked up my TV what kind of phone system they use.
Believe it or not this electronics repair shop uses MAGIC JACK for a phone system.
Now I'm worried about my TV!

I did mention Ooma to the guy that picked up my TV, maybe we'll have a MAGIC JACK convert!

Cross my fingers on the TV repair....

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Cannot call my number

Post by southsound » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:24 am

WayneDsr wrote:Ok, well I know more now; I asked the service guy that picked up my TV what kind of phone system they use.
Believe it or not this electronics repair shop uses MAGIC JACK for a phone system.
Now I'm worried about my TV!

I did mention Ooma to the guy that picked up my TV, maybe we'll have a MAGIC JACK convert!

Cross my fingers on the TV repair....

Wayne
I don't know, Wayne. If he is able to make MJ work well enough to use it for business, then he must be a VERY GOOD technician! Can I have a walnut brownie? :P
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Cannot call my number

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:28 am

Yeah, that's a good point ! :D

Wife hasn't made any brownies in quite some time. I'm hoping with this cooler weather she might!

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Cannot call my number

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:36 am

Along the same line, and maybe I should create a new topic, but I just noticed I cannot call my cell phone today.
Using my Ooma hub, I dial my cell number (Verizon Straight Talk), I get 2 ringbacks then silence, cell phone never rings.
It is the phone I use for multiring, but it's been working fine up until today.

Using my Telo, it rings through just fine.

Any suggestions?

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Cannot call my number

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:06 am

WayneDsr wrote:Along the same line, and maybe I should create a new topic, but I just noticed I cannot call my cell phone today.
Using my Ooma hub, I dial my cell number (Verizon Straight Talk), I get 2 ringbacks then silence, cell phone never rings.
It is the phone I use for multiring, but it's been working fine up until today.

Using my Telo, it rings through just fine.

Any suggestions?

Wayne
Got this problem fixed. It was Verizons issue.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Post Reply