QoS recommendation

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by Nat Ray » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:07 pm

What options are available under the QoS settings? Can you manage QoS via an Ethernet Port, rather than a MAC Address?

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by ajw522 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:09 pm

4 options:

Applications
On-line gaming
Ethernet Port
MAC Address
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by Nat Ray » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:11 pm

Set QoS on the Ethernet Port your Telo is connected to . . .

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by lbmofo » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:16 pm

If not too much trouble, do it by MAC address.... then if you switch connections around, don't need to worry about changing anything.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by Nat Ray » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:18 pm

The Telo uses two MAC Addresses, setting it on the Ethernt Port covers all bases . . .

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by lbmofo » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:24 pm

I am not too keen on the router QoS topic but if you were to use MAC address, would you just be setting up for Ooma's Modem port MAC? Or do you have to setup both Modem and Home ports to high priority?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by murphy » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:29 pm

Just the modem port MAC address is required. The Home port MAC address is only used on the LAN side.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by Nat Ray » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:30 pm

If using the MAC Address to setup QoS, the Modem Port MAC Address would be used . . . Being careful to select Use Built In:

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by ajw522 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:48 pm

My question was geared to me putting the Telo in front, therefore allowing QoS to be run by the Telo; however, you all believe that my Cisco router will do a better job with QoS?
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: QoS recommendation

Post by Nat Ray » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:54 pm

I don't have a clue about the ability of the Cisco Router to handle QoS . . . What I can tell you is that my Netgear WNDR3700 does an excellant job of handling QoS . . .

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

Post Reply