QoS on Ooma or Router - Advanced Network

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: QoS on Ooma or Router - Advanced Network

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:06 pm

Go here and get a speed test with ooma disconnected.
http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html

Set your Qos in ooma setup to 80% of the upload speed you notated from your speed test.

Also, if you have DSL and you have your Hub connected to the WALL jack to run the Scout, disconnect this for the time being.

I use the same router and put ooma behind the router, like a pc and use the router to control priority and QOS. For me, this works better.

Let us know your findings.

Wayne

Boondocs
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:09 pm
Location: Pocono's PA

Re: QoS on Ooma or Router - Advanced Network

Post by Boondocs » Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:15 am

Yea I did using the settings listed above.
Telo - primary phone since Feb 2009
Core - gave to sister April 2010
Lifetime Premier Member

Post Reply