Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:31 am

nmas wrote:nope... I bought a power converter that inputs 220v and output the same as the original ooma converter. Should I try another power converter?
I think I was talking about the same thing. Not a new power adapter but a power converter such as these: http://www.brookstone.com/sl/tools/powe ... ter-travel

It might be worth a shot to try a different power converter.

Looking at a phone sold in Singapore, it seems that they are based on European standards:

The voltage on the network is classified as TNV-3 (Telecommunication Network Voltages, as defined in
the standard EN 60950).


And of course, USA phones are not:

The plug and jack used to connect this equipment to premises wiring and the telephone network
must comply with the applicable Part 68 rules and technical requirements adopted by ACTA.


But I don't know what the differences would be if they work differently.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:49 pm

that seems like a good hint. unfortunately I left my adapter in the States before I came here...

Gonna have someone mail it to me...

Should I try to get another power adapter or just wait for the original adapter to come...

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:45 pm

Hope the adapter you are using has not caused any damage.

Here is what you need to find in 220V adapter:

ooma Hub 12 VDC, 1.2A
ooma Scout 5 VDC, 2A <-- heard that Telo uses the same adapter

Seems all power adapters are center positive and that's what's needed.

For your reading pleasure:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=211

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7404&start=10#p53647
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:51 am

brilliant! super brilliant!

I changed into a new adapter with 12 V and 1000mA (That was the configuration of the original ooma adapter I had)

It works like a magic. At least so far so good. No more disconnections even after it has been turned on for about 5 hours. This is far exceed the normal working time. The temperature of the adapter seems to be normal too.

Thanks so much! was wondering why I didn't thought of the adapter problem.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:11 am

Good to hear that it is working. However, the one that you are using 1A doesn't meet the 1.2A requirement. Might want to change it out as soon as you get yours in the mail.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:06 am

oh is it? But why then the original adapter that ships with the ooma hub says "12V 1000mA" on it?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:41 pm

You're right. Although the Hub manual says ooma Hub 12 VDC, 1.2A, the adapter I have says 1000mA too.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:51 pm

yeah that's one thing puzzles me when I tried to buy the 220v adapter. In the end I decided to follow what's written on the original adapter. And it is so far so good.

Post Reply