Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
velg
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:07 am

Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by velg » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:48 pm

We just got an Ooma telo recently. We have 3 friends who use Vonage.

When we place a call to them, they can hear us but we can't hear them.
When they place a call to us, everything is OK.

Please help.

thanks,

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by thunderbird » Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:36 am

If your Ooma device is placed behind (LAN side of) your router, create a rule(S) to open the following router ports.
Service Ports:
Ooma uses the following application ports for outbound data and voice traffic:
UDP 53, UDP 123, UDP 514, UDP 1194,UDP 3386, UDP 3480, UDP 10000-20000, TCP 53 and TCP 443.

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by highq » Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:16 am

Why would outbound ports be blocked in the first place?

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by murphy » Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:07 am

highq wrote:Why would outbound ports be blocked in the first place?
They wouldn't be in a router sold for home use.
A router intended for commercial use, your place of employment for example, would normally have all of the ports (inbound and outbound) blocked except for the ones the powers that be decide they want open. If one of those was involved it would have cost at least $200.00 and probably a lot more.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by highq » Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:35 am

What costs $200.00? Opening a port?

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by murphy » Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:50 am

highq wrote:What costs $200.00? Opening a port?
No, buying the commercial router.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by thunderbird » Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:57 am

murphy & highq: There is a way to manually reload the Ooma device firmware. Have either of you had experience with reloading Ooma device firmware? Problems?

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by murphy » Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:12 am

thunderbird wrote:murphy & highq: There is a way to manually reload the Ooma device firmware. Have either of you had experience with reloading Ooma device firmware? Problems?
I am not aware of any way to manually reload the firmware.
I suppose you could ask Ooma to push the firmware to the box.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ntoy

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by ntoy » Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:21 am

thunderbird wrote:murphy & highq: There is a way to manually reload the Ooma device firmware. Have either of you had experience with reloading Ooma device firmware? Problems?
Hello,

Your Telo is on the latest - firmware 42086.

There isn't a user intervention option for Firmwares.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Calls to Vonage customers: can't hear them but other way OK

Post by thunderbird » Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:49 am

Thanks, I don't need firmware. My Ooma device has been functioning very well. I was given a procedure that starts a reload of the Ooma device firmware, but I didn't want to pass it on if it would cause problems.

Post Reply