This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#62900 by maxxnas
Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:05 am
I'm new to Ooma. At first everything seemed ok. Quite often I'll have clients call me and ask me to view a webpage while talking with them. Lately it has been terrible. I'm unable to use the internet and talk on the phone at the same time. It completely breaks up the phone call. Even if I browse to a simple text-based website. The conversation is terrible. I ran a test with the following settings...

Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.0

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 3014144 bps
Upload speed: 616472 bps
Download quality of service: 85 %
Upload quality of service: 94 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 73 ms
Average download pause: 12 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 87 ms
Average round trip time to server: 88 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 20800000bps
Route concurrency: 6.9007983
Download TCP forced idle: 71 %
Maximum route speed: 6026200bps

Considering I have a high-speed cable modem, does anyone have any ideas why this is happening and how I can resolve this problem.

Thanks in advance.
#62904 by murphy
Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:31 am
Is Ooma before or after your router?
If before, did you configure the QOS settings in Ooma?
If after, did you configure the QOS settings in your router (if it has them)?
600 kbps up is slow for a cable connection. I pay for 2000 and usually get 3000.
#63145 by Trinacria
Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:00 pm