Incoming call quality sporadic

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
MyTelo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:32 am

Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by MyTelo » Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:37 pm

For the past week, whenever there was an incoming call, the call quality would degrade in a sporadic manner, but the outgoing call quality is great. I don't know why it has been acting up this way, so I contacted Verizon (my ISP [3Mbps/786kbps]) to see if something was wrong with my internet connection. They ran a line test and told me that everything is okay, but I still have the call quality issue. I'm still using the old Ooma Hub and have had it for about a year now.
Sync your files online and across computers with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! This link gives you an extra 250MB http://db.tt/Ci7dpUX

MyTelo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:32 am

Re: Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by MyTelo » Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:59 am

Can anyone help? It's been like this all month and I am not sure what to do from here on.
Sync your files online and across computers with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! This link gives you an extra 250MB http://db.tt/Ci7dpUX

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:10 pm

MyTelo wrote:Can anyone help? It's been like this all month and I am not sure what to do from here on.
Run this test and post the results from the Advanced tab.

http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.htm
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

MyTelo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:32 am

Re: Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by MyTelo » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:45 pm

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 0.4 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 1.9 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.4 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.0

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 1796896 bps
Upload speed: 215128 bps
Download quality of service: 99 %
Upload quality of service: 99 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 18 ms
Average download pause: 6 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 130 ms
Average round trip time to server: 130 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 1796896bps
Route concurrency: 1.0
Download TCP forced idle: 0 %
Maximum route speed: 4032920bps
Sync your files online and across computers with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! This link gives you an extra 250MB http://db.tt/Ci7dpUX

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:59 pm

Everything looks good except for the outbound packet loss. It should be zero.
It's very small and would affect the way the person you are talking to hears you if it has any effect at all.
Is the hub before or after the router?
If before, have you set the upload QOS to 172 (80% of your upload speed of 215)?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

MyTelo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:32 am

Re: Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by MyTelo » Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:10 pm

I think it's before the router. As for the QoS, I haven't done anything to it. After setting up the hub, I didn't do any other configuration changes via the router.
Sync your files online and across computers with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! This link gives you an extra 250MB http://db.tt/Ci7dpUX

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Incoming call quality sporadic

Post by murphy » Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:21 am

MyTelo wrote:I think it's before the router. As for the QoS, I haven't done anything to it. After setting up the hub, I didn't do any other configuration changes via the router.
You need to connect to the Ooma setup page

http://setup.ooma.com

or

http://172.27.35.1

if the former doesn't work. It won't work if you use OpenDNS.

which accesses the configuration page inside of the hub.
The default upload QOS is 384 (I think) which in your case is too high.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply