Telco has line hum or background noise

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
makitso
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:21 am

Telco has line hum or background noise

Post by makitso » Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:27 am

OK, this problem surfaced when I converted from Vonage to an Ooma telco. There is a lot of background noise on the call. It is made worse by my Pantronics head set which amplifies. I have tried the following and no changes:

1. phone plugged directly into the telco unit -- no change
2. different cord to power - no change
3. moved telco to different location -- no change
4. *99 to see if that helped - did not

My internet service is top with 12Mbs download and 2Mbs upload with zero jitter.
The telco unit has zero for QOS.

Again, the problem did not exist using the Vonage device.

I am inclined to think the telco unit has a poor design for shielding since posts say the hub system does not have this problem.

Rob

oom101
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Telco has line hum or background noise

Post by oom101 » Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:30 pm

There seems to be some wooshing on calls using Hub and Telo, but if you consider it a hum, then it turns out that the Telo has an electronic "brick" power plug that is light weight and electronic, and can take 100V-240V, but the Hub has a very heavy transformer plug in. Makes me think some Telo power cords might be causing noise? Have heard others complain about radios playing, etc. I have both units, and there is some slight background noise, like wind blowing a little, but it is not bad. Maybe they could swap out your power cord?

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Telco has line hum or background noise

Post by ajw522 » Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:06 pm

oom101 wrote:There seems to be some wooshing on calls using Hub and Telo, but if you consider it a hum, then it turns out that the Telo has an electronic "brick" power plug that is light weight and electronic, and can take 100V-240V, but the Hub has a very heavy transformer plug in. Makes me think some Telo power cords might be causing noise? Have heard others complain about radios playing, etc. I have both units, and there is some slight background noise, like wind blowing a little, but it is not bad. Maybe they could swap out your power cord?
I have this same problem, but it's more of a buzzing noise.
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

Post Reply