Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
koongo
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:43 am

Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by koongo » Fri May 21, 2010 8:17 pm

Ooma uses up most of my internet bandwidth.

Using speedtest.net, without anybody talking on the Ooma phone I get 25.4 Mbps up and 18.3 Mbps down with a 12ms ping. This is the excellent service that Verizon Fios provides.

When the Ooma phone is in use I get 10.66 Mbps up, only .12 Mbps down with an 8ms ping.

The download speed is so fast it doesn't matter that Ooma uses more than I expected but almost all my upload speed is gone. Is Ooma supposed to use that much of my Internet capacity?

KoonG

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by southsound » Fri May 21, 2010 8:39 pm

How do you have your ooma system connected? With that kind of bandwidth I would have my ooma after my router - then it should not affect your speeds at all unless you are on a call - then only a small portion of what you have available.

Did I mention, "Welcome to ooma and to the forum?"
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

FreePhone
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:25 pm

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by FreePhone » Fri May 21, 2010 9:53 pm

koongo wrote:Using speedtest.net, without anybody talking on the Ooma phone I get 25.4 Mbps up and 18.3 Mbps down with a 12ms ping.
So you have a service that provides faster uploads than downloads? Most get much faster downloads than uploads, for instance I have 10Mbps down and 2Mbps up service with Charter Cable.

koongo
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:43 am

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by koongo » Sat May 22, 2010 7:39 am

South sound

I have the FIOS modem connected to my router. From the router one ethernet is connected to computer 1, a second ethernet is connected to computer 2 and the third ethernet is connected to the Ooma.

FreePhone

Sorry for the typo. It is 25.4 Mbps DOWN and 18.3 Mbps UP when nobody is using the Ooma.

When the Ooma is active is is 10.6 Mbps DOWN and 0.12 UP when somebody is talking the telephone via Ooma.

Koongo

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by southsound » Sat May 22, 2010 8:05 am

koongo wrote:South sound

I have the FIOS modem connected to my router. From the router one ethernet is connected to computer 1, a second ethernet is connected to computer 2 and the third ethernet is connected to the Ooma.

Koongo
Wow! I would assume that connected in that manner you would have virtually no effect on your connection with speeds so great. I'm going to bow out to one of the forum's awesome networking experts to see if one of them can come up with a possible cause and fix.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by Groundhound » Sat May 22, 2010 8:55 am

koongo wrote:South sound

I have the FIOS modem connected to my router. From the router one ethernet is connected to computer 1, a second ethernet is connected to computer 2 and the third ethernet is connected to the Ooma.

FreePhone

Sorry for the typo. It is 25.4 Mbps DOWN and 18.3 Mbps UP when nobody is using the Ooma.

When the Ooma is active is is 10.6 Mbps DOWN and 0.12 UP when somebody is talking the telephone via Ooma.

Koongo
In setup.ooma.com go to the advanced page and enter 0 for both Quality of Service settings, with those speeds you probably don't need those settings active. Note: this will only affect speeds from Ooma's home network port.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by southsound » Sat May 22, 2010 8:57 am

Groundhound wrote: In setup.ooma.com go to the advanced page and enter 0 for both Quality of Service settings, with those speeds you probably don't need those settings active.
I would have thought the same - but the OP states that his ooma is AFTER his router???
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by Groundhound » Sat May 22, 2010 8:58 am

southsound wrote:
Groundhound wrote: In setup.ooma.com go to the advanced page and enter 0 for both Quality of Service settings, with those speeds you probably don't need those settings active.
I would have thought the same - but the OP states that his ooma is AFTER his router???
Yeah, I edited my post with a note above.

sfhub
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:22 am

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by sfhub » Sat May 22, 2010 9:25 am

koongo wrote:I have the FIOS modem connected to my router. From the router one ethernet is connected to computer 1, a second ethernet is connected to computer 2 and the third ethernet is connected to the Ooma.
Log into Ooma and make sure it is set to use it's own builtin MAC address.

If you had it set up differently before and it cloned some mac address, it can cause confusion for the packets resulting in ARP/MAC table pollution and behavior like you describe.

surfpup
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 8:33 pm

Re: Ooma using up most o Internet bandwidth

Post by surfpup » Sat May 22, 2010 11:11 am

After you make the changes here, not a a bad idea to reboot modem, router and Ooma. That also will clean up arp tables.

Post Reply