Conflicting info regarding QoS settings

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
J.P.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 7:30 am

Conflicting info regarding QoS settings

Post by J.P. » Sat May 08, 2010 7:36 am

I just set up my Telo and I've been reading the online documentation. The Configuring Quality of Service doc says, "In the 'Upstream Internet Speed' textbox, type in the numeric upstream speed result from the Internet speed test." However, the Learning more about Ooma Quality of Service (QoS) doc says, "For the most optimum results, it is best to configure your 'Upstream Internet Speed' to be 15-20% less than your measured upstream bandwidth." Which is it?

I have high-speed Comcast cable with over 21 Mb/s down and over 4 Mb/s up. (Exact measured upstream bandwidth is 4,322 kbps.) My QoS' Upstream Internet Speed is now set at the default 384 kbps. Exactly what should I set this to?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Conflicting info regarding QoS settings

Post by lbmofo » Sat May 08, 2010 8:09 am

Upstream 15% - 20% below measured is recommended.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Conflicting info regarding QoS settings

Post by murphy » Sat May 08, 2010 8:11 am

Measure your speeds many times over the course of a day. Compute the average of the upload speeds. Multiply by 0.8.
Enter the result. OR since your speeds are so high, set both numbers in the Ooma box to 0 which disables QOS.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

J.P.
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Conflicting info regarding QoS settings

Post by J.P. » Sat May 08, 2010 8:35 am

murphy wrote:Measure your speeds many times over the course of a day. Compute the average of the upload speeds. Multiply by 0.8.
Enter the result. OR since your speeds are so high, set both numbers in the Ooma box to 0 which disables QOS.
murphy, thanks, I'll set it to 0.
Best regards, J.P.

Post Reply