Ooma confuses router's dynamic DNS support...how to fix?

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
CharlesW
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:55 am

Ooma confuses router's dynamic DNS support...how to fix?

Post by CharlesW » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:22 am

Hello,

My router (D-Link DIR-825) has built-in support for various dynamic DNS services. I use DynDNS, and it's always worked great.

Unfortunately, with Ooma between the cable modem and router, the router thinks its external IP address is the Ooma's internal IP address.

Does that make sense? Any ideas on a workaround?

-- Charles

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma confuses router's dynamic DNS support...how to fix?

Post by murphy » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:53 am

Do what DynDNS recommends and run their client on your computer. Most of the routers with built in DynDNS support never bothered to get their router approved by DynDNS. Yours definitely wasn't because they are using the IP address they see for the WAN port instead of contacting the DynDNS equivalent of whatismyip.com that DynDNS runs specifically for that purpose.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

BCNeuman
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:53 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Ooma confuses router's dynamic DNS support...how to fix?

Post by BCNeuman » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:50 pm

murphy wrote:Do what DynDNS recommends and run their client on your computer. Most of the routers with built in DynDNS support never bothered to get their router approved by DynDNS. Yours definitely wasn't because they are using the IP address they see for the WAN port instead of contacting the DynDNS equivalent of whatismyip.com that DynDNS runs specifically for that purpose.
That works fine when your computer is on, but doesn't do much when the devices you wish to contact are embedded devices like home automation controllers, security cameras, etc. Of course it would be better if our routers did the right thing, or alternatively if the Ooma device supported DynDNS itself or even if it assumed only a single device on the "inside" and passed the external IP through to the router.

koehn
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:57 am

Re: Ooma confuses router's dynamic DNS support...how to fix?

Post by koehn » Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:18 am

Just swap the Ooma and the router, so that the hookup is modem -> router -> Ooma. Done, unless you need the Ooma in front of your router, for QOS management.

It's worth noting that you can only manage the Ooma through its "computer" ethernet port.

Post Reply