This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#47411 by BCam
Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:58 pm
I'm new to ooma and have installed a Telo after my Surfboard 5100 modem accessing Comcast internet (modem -->Telo -->router). I'm only using Comcast for internet, not TV or phone. I've had complaints from callers (and those I've called) that my ooma calls are broken (I hear them fine other than a little static and occasional echos of my voice).

When I run VOIP speed tests, one minute I'll get a result saying that I have good download quality and a couple of minutes later I'll get a result telling me that my download quality is bad and that my connection is unable to support a constant stream of data. At the time these two tests were run, my ooma was idle and, other than the speed test, nothing else was running on my PC or network. Other than the problems with ooma I don't notice any problems in using my internet connection. I have no idea if this has something to do with my hardware or if it is a Comcast problem. How do I troubleshoot this?

For example, these two tests were run about two minutes apart with dramatically different download quality percentages (I've listed the complete results since I don't know what else is important):

VoIP test statistics (Test 1/Test 2)
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 2.8 ms/3.5ms
Jitter: server --> you: 4.8 ms/5.5ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %/0.0%
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %/0.0%
Packet discards: 0.0 %/0.0%
Packets out of order: 0.0 %/0.0%
Estimated MOS score: 4.0/4.0

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 14463872 bps/11446424 bps
Upload speed: 1940496 bps/1933872 bps
Download quality of service: 84 %/42%
Upload quality of service: 99 %/98%
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 58 ms/47 ms