Quality starts fine then gets terrible

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
da-cam
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:03 am

Re: Quality starts fine then gets terrible

Post by da-cam » Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:00 pm

Well,
I made the change and... it is the same. Sometimes it is great, other times it stinks. My network (3 computers and printer) is attached to a network switch plugged into the Ooma hub HOME port. It does not seem to be significantly better. People could not hear our voice on Ooma, but we could hear them fine. Pan B (or is that C)?

bjdyl
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: Quality starts fine then gets terrible

Post by bjdyl » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:49 pm

I started using the ooma last year of November I think and we tested it for the first time after installation and went fine. And 2 weeks later I noticed the choppy sound every time I call the ooma. I only hear the choppy sound on my end. I thought it’s just temporary but days passed and didn’t change the quality to normal. I started calling the support, we did some troubleshooting and didn’t work still. Finally, they said that it’s because of jitter I'm getting, I’m actually getting 30-40ms or higher than that, sometimes it goes down to 20ms. I already called my ISP and they said they can’t do anything about the jitter. In fact, at first I thought it’s because of my internet speed because I only had basic plan, 300+ kbps download and 1.5 upload speed so I upgraded it to 1MB upload and 10MB download, of course I only get 80-90% of that and unfortunately it didn’t solve my problem at all. The weird thing is I tried connecting it to the other ISP, to the office and my uncle’s house with lower ISP speed and it worked fine. I checked their jitter and it’s less that 10ms. Anyone help me, I believe there is still a way to fix this problem but I just don't know how.
By the way, I have wrt54g linksys router, the ooma is connected between modem and router. I don’t think I have a problem with my ISP speed.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Quality starts fine then gets terrible

Post by southsound » Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:53 pm

bjdyl wrote:I started using the ooma last year of November I think and we tested it for the first time after installation and went fine. And 2 weeks later I noticed the choppy sound every time I call the ooma. I only hear the choppy sound on my end. I thought it’s just temporary but days passed and didn’t change the quality to normal. I started calling the support, we did some troubleshooting and didn’t work still. Finally, they said that it’s because of jitter I'm getting, I’m actually getting 30-40ms or higher than that, sometimes it goes down to 20ms. I already called my ISP and they said they can’t do anything about the jitter. In fact, at first I thought it’s because of my internet speed because I only had basic plan, 300+ kbps download and 1.5 upload speed so I upgraded it to 1MB upload and 10MB download, of course I only get 80-90% of that and unfortunately it didn’t solve my problem at all. The weird thing is I tried connecting it to the other ISP, to the office and my uncle’s house with lower ISP speed and it worked fine. I checked their jitter and it’s less that 10ms. Anyone help me, I believe there is still a way to fix this problem but I just don't know how.
By the way, I have wrt54g linksys router, the ooma is connected between modem and router. I don’t think I have a problem with my ISP speed.
Please don't make multiple posts of the same issue
http://www.ooma.com/forums/search.php?a ... 3&sr=posts
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

da-cam
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:03 am

Re: Quality starts fine then gets terrible

Post by da-cam » Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:15 pm

Not sure if anyone is looking at this any more, but I made the change and it improved 80% but still sometimes I have the same problem. I now believe it is more of a Ooma issue than a line issue as I was on a Skype video chat for 2 hours AND my wife was on a different Skype video chat for over an hour and neither Skype calls had any sound quality issues for the duration of the call. On the other hand, when someone called my Ooma, there was an issue of sound quality on that call.

Post Reply