This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#46048 by da-cam
Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:25 pm
I have been using the Ooma with mixed results for 5 months. I may have to give up soon (my wife's preference) unless someone has a clever new suggestion. I have looked over these forum discussions and not found much. My setup:
AT&T DSL, provided via one phone line, split at junction box onto a unique pair in house. AT&T provided me with a 2wire combined modem/router, 2700HG-B. The problem: while I can always hear the other person perfectly, but they can't hear me b/c of static, echo, dropped sound etc. It generally happens when the conversation lasts longer than 5 minutes, but sometimes it is as soon as I pick up the phone. When the problem occurs, calling back has no effect. I have tried to power cycle my hub, router/modem and reestablish my modem's configuration. Each of these solutions has had minor effect but not long lasting effect. Ooma is distributed in our house wiring to all phones by plugging the "phone" port from the hub directly into our wall. (We ported our number to Ooma, so the line (pair) is now dead.) My stats for the VOIP simulations are as follows:

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 0.1 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 0.9 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.2

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 2512528 bps
Upload speed: 433216 bps
Download quality of service: 99 %
Upload quality of service: 44 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 11 ms
Average download pause: 4 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 22 ms
Average round trip time to server: 24 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 2880000bps
Route concurrency: 1.1462559