This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#43950 by jdorin
Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:41 pm
I am experiencing frequent FAX-sending problems. The attempts just terminate randomly somewhere in the middle of a transmission. I suspect that the recipient FAX machine is hanging up, probably from perceived loss of carrier.

I know you don't have control over the Internet's packet/carrier loss tendencies, but is there a way to configure the receiving FAX machine to wait longer before assuming loss-of-carrier and hanging up?

I am a software engineer and I have programmed such configuration-setting commands to initialize a receiving modem's settings at the beginning of a communication .. can this kind of initialization take place at the beginning of a FAX transmission?

It took 4 or 5 attempts yesterday to deliver all of 3 pages of a FAX yesterday, to a local recipient on the same area code and exchange as my yet-to-be-ported-to-Ooma phone number.

Yes, I know to precede the outgoing FAX phone number with *99.
#47284 by jdorin
Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:38 am
How to make those suggested BAUD and ECM settings :?:

I'm not using a separate/physical FAX machine. I'm FAXing directly from a FAX client (Microsoft 2004 Word for Mac) inside my computer (a MacIntosh). And so, there are just four pieces of equipment that might offer the opportunity of making the suggested changes: my -
1. Mac (iMac PowerPC G5 (the non-Intel version), Leopard OS X v10.5.8)
2. Ooma hub
3. router (Netgear)
4. modem (Clear WiMax)

Here's how they're wired:

[Clear WiMax modem] <HardwiredTo> [Netgear router] <HardwiredTo> [Mac, Ooma Hub]

Where can I make the BAUD and ECM changes :?:
#47289 by amoney
Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:11 am
Im not entirely familar with Apple OS but I would assume to go your settings, and look for your modem for options.
#47293 by jdorin