This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#33222 by lottathought
Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:44 am
I am fairly new to Ooma..and I am having some trouble with my inbound calls.
I have the Hub and am not using the Scout.
I have Time Warner cable with 7MB download and approx 3/4 of a MB upload.
I have set it up so that it is the (Time Warner Cable Modem)-(Ooma Hub)-(Vonage/Linksys Router)..

I have tested this several times and the problems seem to be this..
I can make outbound calls and usually do not have any troubles.
If the call is inbound, the phone rings and when I pick it up, neither me or the person calling can hear anything.
I am in the process of porting my number and have set up Vonage (my old service) to forward the calls until this happens.
I am not currently having any other problems with my internet.

I have tested however and it does not matter if I call the number I am porting from Vonage or the temp number until it ports.
The same problem is happening on both.
I have unplugged the Hub to allow it to reset.
I do know that it was working in the first week and do not know exactly what day this started to happen. I am guessing in the last 2 days..but do not know for sure.

I am at a total loss here. I am thinking, based on the nature of the problem that this is the hub..but I have no idea how to correct it.
Can anybody give me some suggestions?
#33278 by tommies
Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:32 pm
I can make outbound calls and usually do not have any troubles.
If the call is inbound, the phone rings and when I pick it up, neither me or the person calling can hear anything.
I am in the process of porting my number and have set up Vonage (my old service) to forward the calls until this happens.
I am not currently having any other problems with my internet.
[snip]