Page 1 of 2

How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:42 am
by pangdudu88
I bought Ooma a couple of weeks ago from Amazon. Everything is setup after getting help from here. But the call quality of Ooma is not good. My callers told me that they heard dropped voices and crackling sounds. For 30% of the time, they have to guess what I said while I can hear them without any issue. I do not have a home phone and have been using Skype. I called them back right away using Skype and they told me that comparing with Ooma, Skype is crystal clear and there is no issue at all. Their previous conversations with me through Skype are all good too.

Felt frustrated by the sound quality. Since it is still within 30 days. I guess I will return the product. But should I return it to Amazon or Ooma? Or any suggestions to improve the quality are appreciated.

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:47 am
by niknak
sounds like you have issues with your network
post how ooma is setup
type of isp
run the tests here:
http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html

and post all the results - someone will analyze

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:52 am
by pangdudu88
Thanks for your prompt response. I will do that today after work.

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:56 am
by niknak
you're welcome, the folks on this forum are glad to help you try to figure out what's happening, most times problems can be fixed...i'd give it a shot before returning ooma

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:44 pm
by pangdudu88
Here is my set up:
- verizon dsl, 3m/768k
- modem/router is Actiontec GT 704WG, modem and router are together, not separate
- Qos is not enabled (what the settings should be?)
- tested connecting with wired phone, 900 MHz cordless phone, 2.4 GHz cordless phone; all phone have same issues, such as dropped voice, static noise, echo


I attached the voip test results

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:46 pm
by niknak
run the test again, but click on the "advanced" tab so we can analyze the numbers

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:59 pm
by tommies
Do you happen to use the scout too? The scout is known to cause problem with DSL if not install properly. Also the 2.4MHz and 5.8MHz are known to interfere with the router wireless too. To be consistent in testing, please only use corded phone.

For your original question, I bought mine from Amazon too, and I think you need to return it to Amazon if desire. Ater the return window, ooma guarantee is only covered defective unit.

edited
your modem/router combo manual is here
manual
QoS is at page 36-38

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:20 pm
by pangdudu88
Here are the results:

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 0.1 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 4.1 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 6.8 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 3.5

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 695392 bps
Upload speed: 723984 bps
Download quality of service: 71 %
Upload quality of service: 98 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 191 ms
Average download pause: 18 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 104 ms
Average round trip time to server: 107 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 2880000bps
Route concurrency: 4.141549
Download TCP forced idle: 0 %
Maximum route speed: 5041152bps

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:22 pm
by pangdudu88
Thanks a lot for tommies's link. I set up the Qos based on Ooma knowledge base. Do I need to change the router Qos settings too?

Re: How to return Ooma?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:33 pm
by tommies
your modem/router is a combo unit, so in a sense, your ooma is behind router. You only need to set the QoS in the router, no need to set the QoS in the ooma(change to 0 to disable) since you wan to to connect your pc's to the router not to the HOME port of the ooma.

Recommandation:
temporary connect a pc into the ooma HOME port.
a. go to Network page, change the MODEM port MAC address to use build in, note down the build in MAC. Update
b. go to Advanced page, copy the HOME port ip into the hub DMZ. Update

Then power cycle the ooma hub.

c. go to router setting, assign a static ip for the ooma MODEM port. Use can view the ooma web interface using this static ip from within your LAN.



The quality issue is on the other end, so it relates to the upstream speed/latency/ etc....