It just might not be Oomas issue. Upstream and downstream.

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: It just might not be Oomas issue. Upstream and downstream.

Post by dtalwar » Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:15 pm

buckoo, if putting the server in router's DMZ solves you problem, then you may want to find out the specific ports that you need to forward and forward them on the router (and remove the server from the DMZ). I also have a home server and I won't put my server in the DMZ other than just to test something.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: It just might not be Oomas issue. Upstream and downstream.

Post by tommies » Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:23 pm

dtalwar wrote:buckoo, if putting the server in router's DMZ solves you problem, then you may want to find out the specific ports that you need to forward and forward them on the router (and remove the server from the DMZ). I also have a home server and I won't put my server in the DMZ other than just to test something.
Yes, and it allows more than just one server (if using dmz,) and more secure.
tommies

buckoo
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: It just might not be Oomas issue. Upstream and downstream.

Post by buckoo » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:05 am

I do have the "port forwarding" activated with the usable ports, so I took your advice and removed the server from DMZ.

Thanks again. This is the only way I can learn, by asking.

Buckoo

Post Reply