Bandwidth and Faxing

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
inlandjetstream
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:47 am

Bandwidth and Faxing

Post by inlandjetstream » Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:53 am

I have had no success with Ooma's telephone support staff when it comes to tech issues. I quite a bit of time during the past 2 days on the phone with them. One issue is that I can receive faxes but get an error when sending. I'm sending at the lowest resolution and have no options on my fax for error correcting. This morning in the knowledge database, I stumbled accross instructions on reserving more band width for the ooma. No problem since I have a 10Mbs/1Mbs cable internet connection. I reserved the max allowable 215 Kbs. Will this help or harm anything else?

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Bandwidth and Faxing

Post by niknak » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:19 am

Many people here use fax machines successfully
besides low baud rate, you need to prefix the dialed number with *99

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Bandwidth and Faxing

Post by dtalwar » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:45 am

And, in addition, connecting the fax machine directly to the Hub seems to work best.

inlandjetstream
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:47 am

Re: Bandwidth and Faxing

Post by inlandjetstream » Sat Aug 22, 2009 5:39 pm

Yes, I input *99"

Post Reply