This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#15458 by tkramer
Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:19 pm
Hi,
I'm new to Ooma (48 hours now). My wife placed a long distance call (IL to CA) and she said the line had some echo and a tin sound. My setup is as follows.
ISP is Comcast and I usually see 16Mbs down and ~ 9.8Mbs up.
My router is a Motorola Surfboard SB5120 which ties into my Apple Time Capsule.
I have the Ooma Hub located on a gig port on the TimeCapsule.
So Cable_Modem--->Time_Capsule_Router--->Ooma.
Ooma is pluged in from the Modem port to the Time Capsule gig port.
I have disabled QoS within the setup.ooma.com page.

Here is my output from http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html:
VoIP test statistics

--------------------

Jitter: you --> server: 0.5 ms

Jitter: server --> you: 1.0 ms

Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %

Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %

Packet discards: 0.0 %

Packets out of order: 0.0 %

Estimated MOS score: 4.1

Speed test statistics

---------------------

Download speed: 4981944 bps

Upload speed: 6510040 bps

Download quality of service: 99 %

Upload quality of service: 83 %

Download test type: socket

Upload test type: socket

Maximum TCP delay: 24 ms

Average download pause: 2 ms

Minimum round trip time to server: 77 ms

Average round trip time to server: 78 ms

Estimated download bandwidth: 14400000bps

Route concurrency: 2.8904378

Download TCP forced idle: 53 %

Maximum route speed: 6808824bps

Here is my speedtest.net output:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/537013212.png

The Time Capsule doesn't offer QoS and I'm not very keen on having the Ooma do the traffic shaping since it seems I have plenty of bandwidth.

Any hints or ideas?
Thanks!

tkramer
#15468 by bw1
Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:04 pm