Help with voice quality

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Help with voice quality

Post by Aveamantium » Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:44 am

Do you have high LAN activity during the call (torrents, downloads, etc.)? If you have the hub between the modem and the router the default for downstream qos is "0" which means it will be disabled. You can change this by logging into setup.ooma.com and putting in your actual ISP speeds (as tested at a place like http://www.speedtest.net/) in the Quality of Service fields in the Advanced section.
Go AVS!

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Help with voice quality

Post by dtalwar » Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:48 am

For crwmlw and wnl both, the download tcp forced idle is 50-53%. Does anyone know what this means for a network?

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Help with voice quality

Post by Aveamantium » Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:54 am

Reports TCP forced idle %, this identifies TCP idle time invoked because the route being tested is too slow end-to-end and the TCP stack is forced to idle. The TCP Forced Idle Percent allows customers to assess the capacity
for a connection to sustain more than one TCP session without
degradation to other TCP sessions.

For example, if a connection shows 50 percent forced idle another FTP session could be run with little to no impact to the first download session. In this case, if a download service supports multiple connections the throughput could be doubled by allowing the transfer to use two connections.
Go AVS!

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Help with voice quality

Post by dtalwar » Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:57 am

If I am reading it right, then a high value is good ... and if anything it should help with the voice quality.

wnl
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:45 pm

Re: Help with voice quality

Post by wnl » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:56 pm

Aveamantium wrote:Do you have high LAN activity during the call (torrents, downloads, etc.)?
In my case, no. WAN utilization remains below 150 kbps (as measured by mrtg). I have the ooma hub behind the router.

15 minutes after posting that the problems went away and the rest of my calls this afternoon have been fine. But this seems to happen every day.

Post Reply