This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#14297 by crwmlw
Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:38 pm
Hi everyone Ive had ooma for about 2 weeks now and the last couple of days while on the phone with my wife I've noticed the quality has been getting worse. If I call home (ooma) from my Verizon cell phone she says she can here me fine but on my end its very choppy and Im getting every other word. Seeing im new to this what can you recommend? Thanks, Chuck
#14304 by whn
Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:41 pm
crwmlw wrote:Hi everyone Ive had ooma for about 2 weeks now and the last couple of days while on the phone with my wife I've noticed the quality has been getting worse. If I call home (ooma) from my Verizon cell phone she says she can here me fine but on my end its very choppy and Im getting every other word. Seeing im new to this what can you recommend? Thanks, Chuck

Without seeing your ISP test results, I can guess 2 things already without you having to post any results.

1. Your Jitter is way off

2. Your QoS is bad

Call your ISP and have them go on a fishing expedition to find the QOS and Jitter problems that perhaps are known problems of the OOMA Hub or sytem that OOMA will not admit fully.

I dunno.

My sincere suggestion is this:

Try any other VOIP for a month with the same ISP and see what results you get in terms of voice quality.

Im going to do that this month with 2 other services to see if it's really my ISP.

I can't get rid of OOMA because I have my 2 numbers tied to it right now and paid for 1 year of premier already ---- the only thing I like is the blacklist feature and I use it as a voicemail machine now.

I dont dare make any important calls with it because I have the same problems as you. No one can hear correctly since my voice breaks up a lot.