QOS issues

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: QOS issues

Post by niknak » Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:03 pm

People have had good success using the linksys routers

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: QOS issues

Post by scottlindner » Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:26 am

just4fn wrote:Its a netgear router. The problem is, is that its about 6 miles away at my parents house and I dont remember the model number. I do have a linksys router model wrt54g. I might try that one.
I see. When you are at your parent's place next, jot down the model number.

If you don't mind mucking around with your firmware on your WRT54G, give Tomato a try. http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato I have a WRT54GL and Tomato kicks butt for managing QoS.

Cheers,
Scott

frank1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:33 am

Re: QOS issues

Post by frank1 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:07 am


User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: QOS issues

Post by scottlindner » Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:25 pm

frank1 wrote:Or http://www.dd-wrt.com/
I have done extensive tests with DD-WRT. Although the UI is very pretty, the QoS features are utterly broken in all variants of v24. Very high packet losses, jitter increases up to 55ms, low throughput. There is a big explosion of threads about the QoS problems on the DD-WRT forums at the moment.

I would recommend staying away from it unless you like to tinker and test.

Cheers,
Scott

just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

Re: QOS issues

Post by just4fn » Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:32 am

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 1.0 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 5.4 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Estimated MOS score: 4.0

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 11309240 bps
Upload speed: 5850032 bps
Download quality of service: 94 %
Upload quality of service: 98 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum TCP delay: 37 ms
Average download pause: 1 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 41 ms
Average round trip time to server: 43 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 20000000bps
Route concurrency: 1.7684654
Download TCP forced idle: 39 %
Maximum route speed: 12787312bps

These are the numbes after the linksys router is installed. I think I will keep it in!
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: QOS issues

Post by niknak » Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:46 pm

for sure - good numbers
(of course it helps that both linsys and ooma designers are formerly from cisco!)

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: QOS issues

Post by scottlindner » Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:30 am

That's excellent. A single router change and everything is better!

Scott

just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

Re: QOS issues

Post by just4fn » Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:14 pm

Thanks for the support and comments. Maybe this may help others with poor QOS. I dont know if it will fix everybodys QOS but it seem to have solved my issues. The 1st step is to eliminate the router and just get data directly from the modem.
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

frank1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:33 am

Re: QOS issues

Post by frank1 » Wed Jun 17, 2009 12:55 pm

scottlindner wrote:
frank1 wrote:Or http://www.dd-wrt.com/
I have done extensive tests with DD-WRT. Although the UI is very pretty, the QoS features are utterly broken in all variants of v24. Very high packet losses, jitter increases up to 55ms, low throughput. There is a big explosion of threads about the QoS problems on the DD-WRT forums at the moment.

I would recommend staying away from it unless you like to tinker and test.

Cheers,
Scott
Darn it... I just bricked my router with DD-WRT.

Maybe I'll buy a used wrt54g from ebay pre-flashed with tomato.

I wanted to set up a router in "client bridge" mode, and play around with it for some wired devices I want to use as wireless. I'm guessing tomato has that functionality, because I know DD-WRT does.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: QOS issues

Post by scottlindner » Wed Jun 17, 2009 2:24 pm

frank1 wrote:
scottlindner wrote:
frank1 wrote:Or http://www.dd-wrt.com/
I have done extensive tests with DD-WRT. Although the UI is very pretty, the QoS features are utterly broken in all variants of v24. Very high packet losses, jitter increases up to 55ms, low throughput. There is a big explosion of threads about the QoS problems on the DD-WRT forums at the moment.

I would recommend staying away from it unless you like to tinker and test.

Cheers,
Scott
Darn it... I just bricked my router with DD-WRT.

Maybe I'll buy a used wrt54g from ebay pre-flashed with tomato.

I wanted to set up a router in "client bridge" mode, and play around with it for some wired devices I want to use as wireless. I'm guessing tomato has that functionality, because I know DD-WRT does.
I bricked mine as well. I can help you unbrick it.

Does the power LED flash rapidly and never stop flashing? If so, there is a very easy way to unbrick it.

I also have a theory how I bricked mine. Did you do the standard build, or the mini or micro build?

Scott

Post Reply