International Call Quality

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
stevepow
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:18 pm

Re: International Call Quality

Post by stevepow » Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:04 pm

Two calls today to UK - Scotland and England - 30 min each. Worked quite well - no issues to report. We did the *99 thing before both calls. Not sure it mattered. We'll continue our testing...
steve
comcast<->linksys router<->ooma hub<->ooma scout

ricon
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:27 am

Re: International Call Quality

Post by ricon » Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:50 am

I made 2 calls to Poland today.
When I called first time They could not hear me.
Second time was perfect

internetizen
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:08 pm

Re: International Call Quality

Post by internetizen » Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:52 pm

What is *99?

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: International Call Quality

Post by Aveamantium » Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:57 pm

*99 uses the uncompressed G711 Codec (about 80kbps), where a default call is compressed and uses about 40kbps.
Go AVS!

stevepow
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:18 pm

Re: International Call Quality

Post by stevepow » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:37 am

Panama Calls are still bad - how do I report this or get it sorted out?
steve
comcast<->linksys router<->ooma hub<->ooma scout

stevepow
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:18 pm

Re: International Call Quality

Post by stevepow » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:55 am

And to add insult to injury, I call the support number today, end up connecting to someone in Manila (great - not!) - and every thing I say to them - everything I say to them - gets echoed - gets echoed - back to me - back to me.

Very annoying. The guy says he doesn't hear the echo and I can hear him fine :-(

Works good for US and some countries, but kind of a bummer that I'd need to use my land line or cell phone to be able to have a decent conversation with support.

I know growing pains - I was about to sign up for premier - the reason for my call, but now...hmm...

The guy is trying, but has no clue...I think.
Last edited by stevepow on Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
steve
comcast<->linksys router<->ooma hub<->ooma scout

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: International Call Quality

Post by atici » Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:46 am

I think this will never be resolved. There are other priorities I imagine. I use google voice for international calls now. Works great.

I'd rather see ooma implement Google Voice extensions :)

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: International Call Quality

Post by niknak » Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:17 am

stevepow wrote:...end up connecting to someone in Manilla (great - not!) - and every thing I say to them - everything I say to them - gets echoed - gets echoed - back to me - back to me....
Must be in your system...looks like your email is echoing too

stevepow
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:18 pm

Re: International Call Quality

Post by stevepow » Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:56 am

atici wrote:I use google voice for international calls now. Works great.
Works great for some countries (UK for example), works poorly for others: Panama and apparently the Phillipines.
steve
comcast<->linksys router<->ooma hub<->ooma scout

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: International Call Quality

Post by atici » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:02 pm

Surprising. GV works great for every country I tried including cell lines: Turkey, Belgium, UK, ...

Post Reply