How Linx is plugged in

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
jstaso
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 3:37 pm

How Linx is plugged in

Post by jstaso » Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:58 pm

Does it make any difference in the call quality of the Linx with a FAX machine if it is plugged directly into the wall or an extension cord?

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: How Linx is plugged in

Post by EX Bell » Sat Apr 27, 2013 5:05 pm

Shouldn't matter. Linx connects via DECT 6.0 wireless like cordless phones use. It does not connect by way of the house wiring like PowerLine adapters do.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

GAlee
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:44 am

Re: How Linx is plugged in

Post by GAlee » Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:53 am

I am new to Ooma, 2 days. Do I have to buy a linx for the other phones in the house to work? Right now the Ooma I brought is in the office. I have two more phones in the house. I am trying to understand how Linx's work. I thought you just buy one equipment and ALL the phones would work. :?

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: How Linx is plugged in

Post by EX Bell » Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:36 am

GAlee wrote:I am new to Ooma, 2 days. Do I have to buy a linx for the other phones in the house to work? Right now the Ooma I brought is in the office. I have two more phones in the house. I am trying to understand how Linx's work. I thought you just buy one equipment and ALL the phones would work. :?
Linx is if you want to use your own handset to access "Instant Second Line" on the main account, assign a second number to ring independently of the main number on a private account, add a separte phone extension where you don't have one, or maybe connect an alarm system into Ooma without connecting to the main phone line and having to worry about compatibiliity with alarm system "Line Seizure" components. These are a few of the possible uses.

What you're talking about is possible without buying anything else and it is documented. You just need to make sure that you don't have a physical connection to the phone company any longer, otherwise it might damage your Telo. Here's how to set it up.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

GAlee
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:44 am

Re: How Linx is plugged in

Post by GAlee » Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:36 am

Ok I think I understand now. So right now I need to request to keep my home number, wait for my number to get ported, cancel my phone company, then follow the setup?

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: How Linx is plugged in

Post by EX Bell » Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:36 am

GAlee wrote:Ok I think I understand now. So right now I need to request to keep my home number, wait for my number to get ported, cancel my phone company, then follow the setup?
Yes.

How the entire process pans out depends on how your current phone company handles their accounts. Bell Canada for example, automatically cancels your phone account once the number "Ports-Out" to another carrier, that being Ooma in our case. You simply don't want to cancel before the number port happens or you could lose your number. It's important afterward however, to make sure they haven't continued to charge you for a service you don't have with them.

It's also important if you have DSL Internet service, that you check with your provider an make sure you're not going to lose internet. Again, with Bell Canada it's been pretty simple. If you're a DSL subscriber with Bell Canada and you request a number port, the account cancels automatically when the number port completes, meanwhile they have already added a dry-loop so they can keep billing you for internet. It's pretty seamless.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

Post Reply