Configuring OOMA QoS on D-Link DSR Routers

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
zyxlsy
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:08 am

Configuring OOMA QoS on D-Link DSR Routers

Post by zyxlsy » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:16 am

I understand this series of routers are rarely used, but I do use one.
When configuring QoS in my DSR-500 (made by D-Link) to give OOMA highest priority, I stumbled upon the selection for "service". For usual D-Link routers, you just tell the router to give highest priority to an IP address. But in DSR routers, you need to specify a service, so the IP is given highest priority when running selected service.
Back then there is a option "ANY", but it is eliminated in latest firmware. So in order to give OOMA highest priority, I need to tell my router what service OOMA is using, and I absolutely don't know.
Some choices are DNS:UDP, DNS:TCP, SIP:UDP, SIP:TCP, SNMP, etc. These are just a few, and the selection is huge.
If somebody can understand what I'm talking about, I would be very appreciative if you could let me know which service I should choose.
Thanks!

holmes4
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Configuring OOMA QoS on D-Link DSR Routers

Post by holmes4 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:11 am

I would guess that SIP:UDP is the one you want.
Steve

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Configuring OOMA QoS on D-Link DSR Routers

Post by lbmofo » Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:33 am

Can you add multiple entries? If so, you can add all the different protocols.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Configuring OOMA QoS on D-Link DSR Routers

Post by thunderbird » Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:31 am

Ooma uses UDP & TCP for sure.

More information:
Domain Name System (DNS)
Session Initiation Protocol (SIP)
Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP)

Service Ports:
Ooma uses the following application ports for outbound data and voice traffic:

UDP 53, UDP 123, UDP 514, UDP 1194,UDP 3386, UDP 3480, UDP 10000-30000, TCP 110, TCP 53 and TCP 443.

holmes4
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Configuring OOMA QoS on D-Link DSR Routers

Post by holmes4 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:08 am

I would think that for QoS, all you'd care about is UDP. Most routers I have dealt with allow me to just give an IP address of a device as an alternative to naming a service. Many of them come with a long list of applications (largely games) for which they have presets, but you can override these.)
Steve

Post Reply