QOS with dropcam

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by lbmofo » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:00 pm

You are doing the test with Ooma in use?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by thunderbird » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:04 pm

Brock wrote:Ok, I have it set to 700 up and 0 down, still doing the same thing and still showing 900+ on the speed test.

So there is no other QoS to turn on is there? It's just the number in there right? If so I think my Ooma is bad.
Run http://speedtest.phonepower.com/ to see how your modem and Internet connection is doing. Then click on the Advance tab on the lower left side of the Phonepower page, and post the following values here in this thread, by clicking on "Quote" in the upper right hand corner of this Ooma Forum post. Then fill in the blanks.

Download Speed: ________________
Upload Speed: ________________
Download Consistency of Service ________
Upload Consistency of Service _________
Maximum TCP Delay _____________
Jitter you server __________
Jitter server you _________
Packet loss: you server_______
Packet loss: server you ______
Packet discards _________
Packets out of order _________
Estimated MOS score ________

Brock
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:50 am

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by Brock » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:01 am

Yes all the test were while the Ooma was in use.

When I get home I will run it again with and without the Ooma in use and post them here.

Brock
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:50 am

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by Brock » Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:24 pm

In order we have the Motorola SB6121 cable modem with Time Warner, then the Ooma, then the first router then a wireless router and a second router.

The first is no phone in use, the second is while call in progress with the Ooma.

down 14170 14400
up 769 740
down const 94% 97%
up const 77% 86%
down type socket
up test socket
max tcp 176 98
dl pause 1 ms 1 ms
min round trip 90 ms 89 ms
adv round trip 90 ms 90 ms
est dl 14170 14400
route 1.0 1.0
down tcp 44% 44%
max route -

jitter you-server 3.9 ms 2.8ms
jitter server-you .3 ms .9ms
packet loss you 0 0
pcket loss server 0 0
packet discards 1.8% 1.2%
packets out of order 0% 0%
est MOS 4.1 4.2

So near as I can tell there is no significant difference, but again while on the phone during the test the voice from the home line was not understandable, as soon as the test was done it was fine.

We talked to Ooma support and they changed the QoS to 943 and 0 Of course they said we had a good connection and it should work fine, but it doesn't...

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by thunderbird » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:18 pm

Brock:
The problem probably is in this area:
packet discards 1.8% 1.2%.............................Both readings should be Zero.
(Upload Internet Speed) up 769 740..................Both readings is a little low.

Packet discards should always be Zero. This problem is almost always caused by a defective or malfunctioning Modem. Second cause can be a problem with the Internet provider signal.

Check your Modem Owner's manual and see if there is a reset procedure. If so do the Modem Reset porcedure. Note: some Modems contain batteries that must be tempoarily removed to have a successful Modem Reset or Reboot. Reference the Modem Owner's manual for removal instructions.
If there is a Modem reset procedure do the reset procedure, if not do a Modem reboot. Then Run Phonepower Speedtest and check for better results.

Call your Internet provider and find out what your Upload Internet Speed should be. Since your Download Internet Speed is 14000+ it seems like the Upload Internet speed should be a little higher, like 1000 to 2000+?

Brock
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:50 am

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by Brock » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:38 pm

Normally I see uploads about 900+, not sure why it was lower that time. The drop cam is running and that does use about 250k constantly, not sure if that could be slowing it down? It is suppose to throttle back if the upload is busy and it can buffer itself.

I understand the modem might be adding to the issue and I can try resetting that.

Still I shouldn't see a number higher in the speed test that the QoS is set to while on the Ooma correct?

For instance if I set the upload in the QoS to 300 and run the test why do I still see 800+ in the upload part of my test?

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by thunderbird » Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:07 pm

Brock wrote: Normally I see uploads about 900+, not sure why it was lower that time. The drop cam is running and that does use about 250k constantly, not sure if that could be slowing it down? It is suppose to throttle back if the upload is busy and it can buffer itself.
Try temporarily disconnecting the drop cam and the run Phonepower Speedtest and see if there is a difference.
Brock wrote: I understand the modem might be adding to the issue and I can try resetting that.

Still I shouldn't see a number higher in the speed test that the QoS is set to while on the Ooma correct?

For instance if I set the upload in the QoS to 300 and run the test why do I still see 800+ in the upload part of my test?
I'd try to find out why the Upload speed is low as compared to the download speed; and also get the packet discard problem corrrected first. It just may be if these things are corrected, you won't have to worry as much about the Ooma Telo Quality of Service settings.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by lbmofo » Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:00 pm

Brock, usually you would set your downstream QoS to 0 to disable it meaning Ooma won't restrict your downstream.
On upstream side, when Ooma is in use, you should see your upstream stay around where you set the upstream QoS.
You can tell by doing the pure speedtest http://speedtest.net/
Of course, this is with Ooma right after modem and before any of your routers.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Brock
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:50 am

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by Brock » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:01 pm

I added the third value with the drop cam off

down 14170 14400 14515
up 769 740 977
down const 94% 97% 98%
up const 77% 86% 98%
down type socket
up test socket
max tcp 176 98 107
dl pause 1 ms 1 ms 1ms
min round trip 90 ms 89 ms 100ms
adv round trip 90 ms 90 ms 102ms
est dl 14170 14400 14515
route 1.0 1.0 1.0
down tcp 44% 44% 50%
max route -

jitter you-server 3.9 ms 2.8ms .1ms
jitter server-you .3 ms .9ms .2ms
packet loss you 0 0 0
pcket loss server 0 0 0
packet discards 1.8% 1.2% 0
packets out of order 0% 0% 0
est MOS 4.1 4.2 4.2

So I am guessing the drop cam was causing the packet discards? And obviously the upload speed is much improved with the drop cam off.

Brock
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:50 am

Re: QOS with dropcam

Post by Brock » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:08 pm

lbmofo with the drop cam off I set the Ooma to 300 up and 0 down reset everything and left the drop cam off.

Then I ran the speed test and got almost identical numbers to what I just got, 957 up, with Ooma set to 300 hmmmmm

BUT with the drop cam off there was no noticeable voice dropouts during the upload portion of the test.

So can we safely assume this is the drop cams fault? Maybe the drop cam is somehow causing the packet loss?

Post Reply